Peanut Butter Balls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
i'd been seriously craving these, and i'm glad i made them. they are delicious, but they are rich! great recipe, but i felt that the chocolate to fat ratio in the sauce wasn't right. i had to add a lot of extra fat to make it smooth and thin enough for dipping. i found they were easy to dip with chopsticks. the toothpick didn't pull the peanut butter ball out of the chocolate again. i made a couple of changes-- i melted the butter for the dough as recommended by other users. they bound together well, so i'm glad i did. also, as i live in the uk and don't have any access to graham crackers, i used crushed up digestives. if you've never had them, don't be shocked by the name. they're actually pretty similar to graham crackers and they are often used, crushed up, for an easy pie crust. i needed 8 plain digestives for this recipe. also, for those that don't know: the easiest way to crush graham crackers [or digestives for that matter] is in a ziplock bag [remove excess air] and a rolling pin. it's so much easier! thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theresa in london

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ruislip, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
I made these as a gift for valentine's day to bring to school (i am in high school) they were very well recived and i even got requests for the recipe, which is pretty odd considering my friends are not avid bakers. I did think they were a bit sweet and had problems with them not sticking together enough, but i heated the mixture up some so the butter would melt and it became easier to work with. I also highly reccomend freezed the balls before you dip them. I also used spoons to help evenly distribute the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
For such a simile recipe with simple ingredients, i was impressed with the results. However, the taste was alittle on the plain side. I didn't have graham crackers on hand, so i crushed some nilla wafers to substitute. In addition, i added some cinnamon to get the graham cracker taste. I was also too lazy to melt chocolate and dip each ball, so i rolled them in a variety of toppings: shredded coconut, nilla crumbs, cinnamon sugar. The balls were more candy like after 20 minutes of refridgeration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Very good. I reduced the butter and sugar just a bit and they're still very tasty. My kids like these even without chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Loved them. Rolled mine in cocoa powder and cocoanut instead of dipping in chocolate cause I don't have a double boiler:-( Will do that next time. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
great recipe, I just cant get them to look good but they sure do taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
My husband is a peanut butter ball NUT! He has a family recipe that he has made for ages. I suggested that he try this recipe because I thought the graham crackers were an interesting addition. This is sure to be a new family classic. The perfect combination of sugar to chocolate. The graham cracker adds a wonderful depth to the peanut butter. This recipe truly takes this from basic holiday fair to good enough to give as holiday gifts! A definite keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamacita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
These are the best BP balls I have ever made. The graham cracker crumbs really make this recipe. You will need a lot more chocolate chips than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T.O. Nails

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gardendale, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
These peanut butter balls tasted good but I found them to be a pain to make. I had a hard time coating them with the chocolate. I doubt I'll make them again just for the reason that it was very time consuming. It was worth the try though. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massapequa, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
I was so happy to find this recipe which is similar to one that I have been making for years. Unfortunately, I dropped my recipe onto a stove burner and it singed it so badly that I couldn't make out the quantities. I do have a suggestion. I melt the butter and it blends better with the dry ingredients. With my old recipe you used about a half square of wax melted. Also, I always add one can of Baker's Coconut to the mixture. I will try this using the shortening and see how I like the coating that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States