Peanut Butter Balls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
One of DH's favorite treats at Christmas, & he loved this recipe. Will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJCFolbrecht

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Iowa Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
So easy, affordable, and delicious! My boyfriend likes them better than Reese's cups. Tips: -Make sure you're using softened butter (not strait from the fridge or melted) -You can use an electric mixer. -For dipping in the chocolate, you can use disposable wooden skewers -If you're trying to make your own double boiler with 2 pots, be very careful not to let any water get in with the chocolate. Even the smallest amount causes the chocolate to react and go hard. -drizzle white chocolate, or melted butterscotch chips over them for an added touch -Definitely make these for the holidays!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coral

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I have never made peanut butter balls before and decided to try this recipe after reading the reviews as I was goin to be having a dinner party the next day. It was easy to make. I follewed the recommendation of melting the butter which made things way easier and I used milk choc chocolate chips and used the two bags as recommended. I was a little worried at first about the sweetness as the dough was very sweet but in the end they were just perfect. I also put them in the fridge to harden before the chocolate part. When they were hard I found it very easy to put the toothpicks in them and dip them. EXCELLENT RECIPE everybody including my one year old and my very, very picky 4 year old loved them....too bad I am on a diet and cant completely enjoy them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I love this recipe - to me these make the best peanut butter balls. I use milk chocolate chips to roll them in. I shape mine in a log, roll it in chips and once refrigerated and sliceable - I slice it like bread and it makes like a little patty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Just way too sweet for me. Prefers the PBB will crisp rice in them. Just personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
It would be hard for me to give a peanut butter ball anything but a 5 star!! I love them, and I especially enjoyed these. The crushed graham crackers was such a nice addition. Thanks for sharing your recipe with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
This is a great recipe and very easy to make. I also like to roll out the dough and cut it out with small cookie cutters then dip it in the chocolate. This makes a great gift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
Yummy! I made these exactly as directed, but found as others did that the chocolate to fat ratio was low, I added another couple tablespoons of butter to the chocolate to get it smooth. Really good recipe, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bostoncook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
i'd been seriously craving these, and i'm glad i made them. they are delicious, but they are rich! great recipe, but i felt that the chocolate to fat ratio in the sauce wasn't right. i had to add a lot of extra fat to make it smooth and thin enough for dipping. i found they were easy to dip with chopsticks. the toothpick didn't pull the peanut butter ball out of the chocolate again. i made a couple of changes-- i melted the butter for the dough as recommended by other users. they bound together well, so i'm glad i did. also, as i live in the uk and don't have any access to graham crackers, i used crushed up digestives. if you've never had them, don't be shocked by the name. they're actually pretty similar to graham crackers and they are often used, crushed up, for an easy pie crust. i needed 8 plain digestives for this recipe. also, for those that don't know: the easiest way to crush graham crackers [or digestives for that matter] is in a ziplock bag [remove excess air] and a rolling pin. it's so much easier! thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theresa in london

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ruislip, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
I made these as a gift for valentine's day to bring to school (i am in high school) they were very well recived and i even got requests for the recipe, which is pretty odd considering my friends are not avid bakers. I did think they were a bit sweet and had problems with them not sticking together enough, but i heated the mixture up some so the butter would melt and it became easier to work with. I also highly reccomend freezed the balls before you dip them. I also used spoons to help evenly distribute the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States