Peanut Butter and Pumpkin Dog Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
My Sheppard/Rotti can't get enough of these....straight from the freezer! I added extra pumpkin and pb too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
This recipe was easy to follow and my dogs LOVED the treats! I used the suggestions below and added one cup of pumpkin instead of the half cup, along with the rolled oats and a extra tablespoon of peanut butter. I baked them for only fifteen minutes, as I used extremely small cookie cutters. I also outlined them with dog friendly peanut butter frosting for that extra kick of something special after they were cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
My dogs loved these. One was barking at me while a batch was cooking, as if to say "hurry up and give me a treat! " I omitted the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I read all reviews and increased the pumpkin to 1 cup and increased the peanut butter to 3 T. I left out the salt. I dumped everything into my Kitchen Aid mixer and it was a little sticky (as it should have been with the added pumpkin) I added about 1/3 - 1/2 more whole wheat flour and it mixed up very well. I rolled out on a very lightly dusted board to 1/2 " and cut into 1 1/2" rounds. Yield 45. Baked at 350 for 40 minutes. Perfect! These have no preservatives so should be frozen. Now, I don't have a dog as I made these for someone who does. Doggie review TBA! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I doubled this recipe as we have two big dogs, an Akita/German Shepherd cross and a Rottweiler/Pit Bull cross and keeping them in store bought treats is super expensive. I used an entire 15 oz can of pumpkin and 4 HEAPING tablespoons of peanut butter. I rolled the dough, half at a time into a rectangle shape about 1/2 " thick and cut into 1"x1" squares. After baking for 40 minutes I let the cookies sit in a low 200 degree oven until they were completely hard. I ended up with about 100 treats and the dogs love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
My dogs LOVE this recipe! I altered the recipe too. I used a whole small can of pumpkin, 2 hefty spoonfuls of peanut butter, a few shots of cinnamon, 4 eggs and then added flour until I got a rolling dough consistency. 40-50 minutes in the oven and I had the happiest dogs on the block!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KacyNJesse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
My lab starts drooling when I pull a bag of these out of the refrig. Have not found a dog that does not like these treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
My dogs love these! They literally wait in the kitchen while biscuits are cooking and whine! I have one dog who is allergic to almost everything. So, I substitute the wheat flour for rice flour so he can eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Super easy to make and my dogs love them!!! I even have a very picky husky and he goes nuts when he smells this dough. They are simple and healthy and don't include ingredients that are harmful to dogs like some other home recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I do not usually like to rate a recipe if I did't follow it exactly as written (at least the first time), but unfortunately I was not able to follow the recipe as the dough was SOO stiff, I couldn't use as much as was called for. I doubled the recipe & then followed the recipe exactly, but once my mixed stopped moving after adding only 3 cups of flour out of 5, I dumped the dough out of my mixing bowl & kneaded in approx. another 1/2 cup or so by hand. Just enough so that the dough was not sticky & could be rolled out- somewhere between the consistency of sugar cookie dough & pizza dough. Aside from that, the dogs LOVE these & I found that the dough was extremely easy to work with. I even rolled, cut & re-rolled until I used every last bit of it. I also only baked them for about 30-35 minutes as they were starting to burn- will be making again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting

See how to make the perfect frosting for brownies or cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States