Peanut Butter and Pumpkin Dog Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by FurMomma
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
One of our dogs has issues with her anal glands and the vet is always telling us to give her pumpkin - this is a great way to make sure she is still getting what she needs healthwise while feeling like it's a treat, not torture. These turned out so cute! Minimal ingredients and easy to make. For those looking to make them, keep in mind the "Add water as needed"! Otherwise they will never turn out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ROMATTS
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I made these as drop cookies, about a Tablespoon each. The dogs knew they were for them, they even liked the raw dough. And after baking, they are sitting there looking at the container, wanting more. I'll make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROMATTS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eveleth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by labmama
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I am rating the actual recipe WITHOUT all of the tweaks the other reviewers have suggested. Let me just say right off, I made these twice b/c the first time, I screwed up. Not Kelly (the recipe poster), not the ingredients listed, not my oven but me. I realized (as I was making the 2nd batch) that I did not put in the correct amount of flour and I also used a 'natural/organic' peanut butter that was very oily, tacky, and sticky so already not having enough flour, that type of PB made things worse. I saw where another reviewer said hers was sticky as well - maybe she did what I did? Regardless, I made it exactly the way the recipe called for the 2nd time around and it turned out perfectly. The dough was "dry and stiff" like Kelly said it would be; I even added "water as needed" just as Kelly suggested to do; I did everything spot on. These treats look and feel just like regular store bought dog treats do except I know where all the ingredients came from and what's in them. Most importantly, my dogs love them. My advice, follow the exact recipe and they'll turn out just fine. (I will post pics of what the dough should look like before hand & of the treats after baking)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Good enough to be made into crackers for people! Great treat for our four legged friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Made the recipe for my dogs and others for Christmas presents. I know that pumpkin is good for dogs if they have an upset stomach, so I was glad to use it in this recipe. I added a bit more flour as I was kneading the dough just to make it tougher and not stick to my rolling pin. Not sure how thick mine were, but they were perfectly done after about 25 minutes in the oven. Definitely will make again!! After sampling some of the treats once they were cooled from the oven, my dogs followed me around for the rest of the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
eliminate the salt and double the pumpkin & peanut butter. Dog goes crazy for these!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I've made dog biscuits in the past, but didn't have my recipe handy so I tried this one. This is honestly a GREAT recipe as-is, but is also a perfect "base" recipe for customizing to suit special diets and preferences. I made a batch as directed, then made a 2nd batch with dried parsley sprinkled into the dough. I also sprinkled some ground flax seed on top before baking. Turned out great, and my mom's schnauzer loved them! Next time, I plan to add an extra tablespoon or two of peanut butter. This recipe is a keeper and will replace my old recipe, which was good, but not this good! A few tips on mixing: Don't whisk the dough. Instead, stir the dry ingredients together in a medium bowl. In a separate bowl, whisk together the eggs and the rest of the wet ingredients. Then stir the wet into the dry. Knead to thoroughly mix before rolling out. Don't add water except as an absolute last resort, because it'll ruin the crunch factor. You want this to be a very dry dough that can be kneaded, rolled-out and cut without sticking to anything. If it sticks, add more flour. Leftover pieces can be rolled into snake-shapes and cut into small kibbles for snacks and baked on the same sheet as the cut-out "cookies" for 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin' storm 97
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
The dough was extremely sticky; went through an extra 1/2 cup of flour just to keep it from sticking to everything! They are very easy to make and a quick recipe- and my dog loves them! Will definitely be making these again! They came out a nice light orange as well, so I used a maple "dog frosting" mix I had to frost. Perfect fall or Thanksgiving treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Followed the directions...but used all purpose (white) flour instead of w/w because I misread lol I had to add more flour & couldn't understand why... Now I know lol My dog loved them & they were easy to make. My 8-year old niece even tried one...she said they were decent hehe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetChelsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting

See how to make the perfect frosting for brownies or cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States