Peanut Butter and Pumpkin Dog Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
We have one do who will eat anything that crosses his path and one very picky little dog that doesn't like much at all. Needless to say these are a hit with both of them and my biggest problem is making sure we have enough on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya D Kohl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
These are the BEST! Nice healthy treat. My dogs gobble them up and I feel good about feeding them something that I know exactly what's in them. I changed one thing -- I used brown rice flour (one of my pups is sensitive to wheat). I also added about 1/4 of honey. For those who think the dough is too sticky....add more flour until the consistency is workable. It's an easy fix. Also, wet your hands with water before handling the dough -- it helps a lot. This dog biscuit recipe is my standard, "go to" and my dog-owner friends love it when I give them these as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellyC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Tough to handle dough. Must have used too much pumpkin from idea from other cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lamezera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LisaJo
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I have a lot of canned pumpkin left over from the holidays and this was a perfect way to use it up. I used a whole can of pumpkin, 1 1/2 c whole wheat flour and quick oats. 2 eggs, 2 Tablespoon of PBS and a shake of cinnamon. It was too soft to roll out. Kinda like a thick oatmeal cookie mix. So I made them like drop cookies. About a half teaspoon (my baby is still a baby) then pressed flat with my fingers. Baked them at 350 for almost 30 min or so. I kept checking to make sure they wouldn't burn but got dry. My little chug Arianna, LIVES them. Everything I go into the kitchen she follows me hoping I will give her another one. LOL I will definitely make these again . Super simple as drop cookies. Very little fuss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
Have made these several times and our dogs love them! Only thing I change is that I use spelt flour instead of whole wheat. I also find it's much quicker if I spread the dough out on a cookie sheet, bake it, and then cut it using a pizza cutter. Not cute like cookie cutter shapes but the dogs don't seem to mind!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Campbell, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
Make these for Max, my labradoodle. I, as many do, add extra pumpkin and peanut butter and if it's too sticky just add more flour or water as needed. I also add chia seeds as these are really good for dogs. Great recipe and Max loves them. I don't roll them out...just take a small amount into a ball and then press down. All cookie cutters are packed as we're getting ready to move. Don't think Max minds not having a shape as long as he gets a treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Super easy. Used my Kitchenaid mixer and started with 1.5 cups flour. Then added more flour until it was "rolling" consistency. Rolled to 1/4" and baked 45 minutes. Turned off the oven and let them sit until they were cool and dry. They taste like sweet biscuits. Dogs are happy campers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Made these for my two furry babies and they loved them. I will have to make another batch as they are now gone. Kept the recipe exactly as written and it worked well. Cut them in bone shapes. Something a little different with the pumpkin but they loved them and they are also good for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SheWolf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ruby's Mother
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
2 Paws Up from my lab/hound cross! I decreased the flour to 2 cups and added 3/4 cup of oatmeal, and I used 2 tbsp PB2 (powdered peanut butter) plus 2 tbsp organic coconut oil instead of regular peanut butter. I only needed about 1/3 cup water to make a soft dough and then rolled out the dough on a floured board. I cut up the biscuits into 1 inch squares using a pastry wheel, and pricked the top of the biscuits with a fork. I lined my cookie sheets with parchment paper and rotated them half-way through. The results are crunchy and doggy-licious! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruby's Mother

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
I used this as a starting point here's some changes I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting

See how to make the perfect frosting for brownies or cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States