Peanut Butter and Pumpkin Dog Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
AWESOME TREATS!! I changed the pumpkin amount from 1/2 cup to 1 full heaping cup and it did the trick! My dough was PERFECT! I kept the cinnamon (I FEEL IT IS IMPORTANT) I made smaller cookies so I left them in for only 15 minutes. They came out golden brown and smelling YUMMY! My dogs ate them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
456 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahedutton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elko, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
My Patterdale Terrier only plays with treats that he loves the most (throwing them around, hiding them, and most oddly, running around whining with them in his mouth). These definitely passed that test. I found one under my pillow! I increased the pumpkin to 1 cup and used about 3 heaping tablespoons of peanut butter. Also threw in about 3/4 cup of rolled oats to give them some depth. I rolled them about to about 1/2 inch thickness and cut them out using dog bone and various mini christmas cookie cutters. Baked them for about 35 minutes. Awesome recipe, will make again and again. EDIT: I've been making these for 4 years now and they are loved by my dogs, as well as neighborhood hounds, family members; dogs, and friends' pooches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
380 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
My Siberian Husky gives these 2 paws waaay up! He absolutely loves them. I did make a couple of adjustments though. I doubled the peanut butter and pumpkin, and omited the salt. These are awesome and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
252 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobe Sound, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Two suggestions: (1) don't even TRY to "whisk" these ingredients together, and (2) they should have listed "water" in the ingredients list; it's key. Treat this recipe as pie dough - put everything but the water in your stand mixer bowl (I hope you have one - it works wonders!) and mix, then add water a TBSP at a time until the dough pulls together and is "workable." Then, dump the dough out and roll it. I didn't need to add more pumpkin or peanut butter or anything - this was a very easy recipe. (I forgot to add the salt, but I don't think the dog minded!) I cut the dough into tiny Christmas shapes before baking. I think I need to play around with the baking temps and times, because like my first dog biscuit attempt, I couldn't get these do be totally 100% dry and crunchy. Mind you, the dog still loved them and treated them like "special treats," taking them to another room to enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shopperooni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amber
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
The dogs loved these! I looked up every ingredient to make sure they were safe for dogs, and sure enough, they were. I added blueberries, (also safe for dogs). I used paw print, bone, and dog shaped cookie cutters. The dogs come running every time they hear the treat jar open now. They can't get enough of these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
These are so cute! I cut them into miniature gingerbread men shapes. I used about 15 oz of pumpkin, 3 huge tablespoons of peanut butter (my puppies LOVE peanut butter), and I added about 2 tablespoons of molasses, 1/2 cup of instant oats and about 2 tablespoons of ground flax seeds. It ended up making ALOT of puppy treats, so that's what my puppies are giving to their friends for Christmas! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I loved making these treats. As a Doxie Mommy it is hard to find treats that will fit her small little mouth. With this i can. However i did have to change it up a bit. The Doughwas to dry. So i added a cup of pumpkin and 3/8 cup peanut butter and it was perfect. If you plan on making them small instead of 40 mins do 15mins and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
My puppies LOVE these. Whenever we have puppy-buddies over for play dates I make them as a special treat. Giving dogs pumpkin every day keeps them 'regular'. If you give them a pumpkin cookie before bed time you are guaranteed to have an easy 'walk' first thing in the morning. There are a few things that I tend to do differently. I use stone ground whole wheat flour. I had a bag that I never used because it was too course, but it is great for the dog treats, my dogs prefer it. Also I open a big can of pumpkin and use half of it in this recipe (a little over a cup) and the other half in human treats (pumpkin-spice cupcakes). And finally, for training treats, and this takes a little practice, keep adding flour 1/2 cup at a time while blending with your electric beater. When the batter goes to a popcorn-like consistency pull out the bite size pieces and put on your cookie sheet. You have to ball up the rest yourself or you can roll it out and cut it like the recipe calls for. I haven't bought training size treats since I found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Bruen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bianca
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
My dogs loved these cookies. I added more pumpkin and added some water because the dough was too dry. I didn't have whole wheat flour so i just used all purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bianca

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
Pups loved it! (Pumpkin is supposed to make dogs STOP eating their poop, so i was looking for recipes for our baby who doesn't seem to get the 'drop it and walk away' idea. She devoured these!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEEJA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carroll, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 340) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting

See how to make the perfect frosting for brownies or cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States