Peanut Butter and Oat Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Carrie C.
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Don't try these without a glass of milk nearby! They were very rich! If you love peanut butter you will love these! I used salted butter so I cut the salt down to a teaspoon, I also added about 5 minutes to the cook time. Very easy to throw together. I will make these again but instead of frosting with peanut butter I may try chocolate just to break up the taste a little! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
very very yummy! It's really rich but it's still delish! It's perfect with vanilla ice cream. Tones down the sweetness a little =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Don't have a jelly roll pan (not even sure what it is) put in a 9 x 13 dish. Took longer to cook, about 10 extra minutes with temp turned up to 350. Tasted great. Recommend chocolate frosting instead of peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This is definitely a keeper! As a peanut butter lover in a family of peanut butter lovers, this was a big hit. They are super moist. I used a little more peanut butter (probably 1 cup total), one cup of brown sugar and 1/2 a cup of white sugar. If you stick to the baking time suggested, you can't go wrong. Enjoy, PB lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MandaSuthrnChf
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
The kids and I loved this recipe! It wasn't so rich that it was over-powering, but it was a good sweet tooth satsifier. My youngest keeps asking for these since we made them last. One thing that I wasn't crazy about was the oatmeal in them was a tiny bit odd in texture, but thw next batch I mixed them extra hard and a bit longer and that broke up the oats enough to get rid of that texture issue. However the taste was spot on! I also had to bake a little longer as I used a 9x13 too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MandaSuthrnChf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gatlinburg, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
The bars have wonderful peanut butter flavor, but was just a little too sweet for my personal tastes, however my husband liked it. My concerns when making this recipe was that other than the eggs, there was no leavening agent which if added, I think would have given it a better texture. I frosted it with a chocolate frosting and if I were to make it again would also add chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Well, I just popped mine in the oven. Although the texture is a bit odd to be called "brownies", the taste of the batter is great! I am a PB lover though. Are these suppose to be thick? My batter is thick but I think they will taste great once I frost them with PB.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by volgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I like the flavor of this recipe, but I definitely think the recipe needs leavening other than the eggs. Were I to make it again, I would add perhaps 3/4 tsp baking soda and 1/4 tsp baking powder. Without the leavening, the baking time definitely needs to be increased. At twenty minutes with no leavening, this was nowhere near set enough to take out of the oven. I also would decrease the sugars to 1/2 cup each, as I prefer cookies that aren't so sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackhighheels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Followed the directions. Burnt on the edges. Crunchy "healthy flavored" granola bar. Hated it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I made this because it sounded delicious but the bake time was much longer than what the recipe calls (somewhere around 40-50 minutes) for and it was quite a bit saltier than I would have liked any of my food to be. It tasted a lot more like salted caramel than a peanut butter brownie. I would not recommend this recipe to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States