Peanut Butter and Maple Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
I rarely use peanut butter, so this was a completely new taste for me. Very filling, but kind of dry. I just poured hot water over oats (very soft and tender kind I use) and added peanut butter and sweetener. I'll try to add some refreshing fruit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I liked this. Instead of steel cut oats, to save time, I used an equal amount of quick oats. I cooked them in the microwave with 1/2 cup of water for 2 minutes. They were perfectly cooked. For the peanut butter I used Jiff Creamy Natural peanut butter. I didn't have Whole Foods brand available. I also assumed quick oats are not as hardy as steel cut, so I halved the peanut butter and maple syrup. I went to do the same with the brown sugar, but it just seemed like it needed more. I added 2 more pinches of brown sugar which may have came to at most 1 tsp. With the extra brown sugar and a quick sprinkle of salt the flavors seemed more balanced. I forgot how quick it is to make a bowl of hot cereal in the microwave. I may make this again as a change to all of the fruit flavored oatmeal recipes. Calories, as made in my notes, came to 1 serving at 118.6 calories. ty, this was very filling this morning with a hot cup of coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
My kids love this and it's very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I have oatmeal almost every day for breakfast. I'm looking for new ways to change up my oatmeal, new things to add to it. I was intrigued by the peanut butter, so I gave this a try. I made this exactly as stated with the only differences being I used rolled oats (not quick cooking) and Jif peanut butter because these are what I had on hand. It was suprisingly good, but I'll have to make adjustments for my personal taste to make it great. The dish wasn't as sweet as I thought it was going to be, which isn't necessarily a bad thing, just not what I was expecting. The peanut butter muted the maple flavor and sweetness. The peanut butter also gave the oatmeal a wonderful creamy consistency, which I loved! However, it was slightly on the bland side, not terribly bland, but bland enough that I will have to tweak the recipe. Possibly add raisins, cinnamon, maybe add more maple syrup or walnuts. It's a good starting point, though, and gives me ideas for different ways to serve oatmeal. I'm very grateful for that, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I liked, I was pleasantly surprised, it smelled like when my brother-in-law made peanut butter chicken stir fry yummmmmmmmmm. Will keep it and pass it on. parrotsville
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Our first new recipe of the year, New Years Day breakfast, hubby and I both liked it. Made exactly as written except we used JIF peanut butter because we didn't have natural peanut butter...still very good but probably don't need the added brown sugar if you use regular PB.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
This was a nice comforting breakfast. Kids liked it. Will make again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I love oatmeal and I am always looking for a different way to prepare it. I really liked the peanut butter flavor in the oatmeal, but, I was not a big fan of the maple syrup. I would try it again, but, probably add a little milk to make it creamier and experiment with different sweeteners like honey or agave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Peanut Butter Chili

See how to turn common pantry items into delicious vegetarian chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States