Peanut Butter and Jelly Thumbprint Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Loved these. Not only are they quick and easy, but they are not overly sweet. My daughter was excited to help with these, especially since she loves PB&J. We used strawberry rhubarb preserves, and did not add the vegetable oil to the peanut butter. If it's heated, it becomes easy enough to drizzle without the oil. Thanks for a fun, great recipe! *Here's a tip to get them to look like my photo--Instead of using my thumb to make the indentation, I use a 1/4 or 1/2 teaspoon measuring spoon. Press it in the center, and you'll get a perfect spot to place your jam or jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
I have been a faithful visitor to this site for years, I love this resource. But I confess that it wasnt until tonight, after making this recipe that I was motivated to join. I HAD to write a review. These are simply the BEST cookies I ever had!!! And btw, my 5 children all agree, now THAT is an event!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jillvanberkom
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
My head reviewer (husband) calls them "thick" and required milk to wash down the cookies--which he says is a good thing. He tried the shortbread with grape jelly and a dollop of peanut butter. The cook (me) reports they are very easy to make, didn't stick to the silpat, and held their shape well. All around winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillvanberkom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I don't know if it was me or the recipe, but these cookies spread horribly, to the point that they were inedible discs with a sticky coating of melted jam covering them. Maybe I just did something wrong, but I definitely won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I saw these through my fb wall and made them right away, i used saltless butter, mistake... always use butter with salt because it balances out all the flavors, i used a 1/4 teaspoon to make the holes as one of the othere reviewers had said to do and it worked great, i put pineapple jam into 1/3 of the dough and berry jam into another 1/3 and mixed peanut butter and chocolate chips into the rest and they all turned out great! awesome with a cup of something hot.... will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pickering, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tinkerbell29
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Very good!! I used a raspberry jam instead of the grape jelly. My husband could not stop eating them!! Will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinkerbell29

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I used strawberry preserves instead of the grape jelly. They were a huge hit and I had none left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
In response to how to get the holes even - this is what I do. I make almond flavored shortbread thumbprints with homemade cherry jam. Once I have the dough rolled into balls, I use the cap to my almond extract, dip it in flour, then press evenly into the dough ball. It doesn't stick and it provides the perfect size for the jam. They spread out nicely in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnRene

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Family Hit!!! The kids did most of the work and this was super simple... The only thing I changed was the peanut butter topping. Making more tomorrow :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Heffernan McCall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barstow, California, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
YUM. I filled with strawberry and grape jam, alternately. Also, I filled a ziploc bag with the peanut butter [no oil] after reading the others reviews, zapped it in the microwave for 30 seconds, and then cut a teensy hole in the tip to drizzle. Then sprinkled with powdered sugar when they had cooled completely. BEAUTIFUL! (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States