Peanut Butter and Jelly Oatmeal Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
These pancakes came out great! I did alter some of the ingredients, however. For the sugar, I used agave syrup, and for the butter, I used applesauce instead, to make the recipe a little more healthy, although it's quite nutritious as is. Also, I added a bit more peanut butter than recommended. You could definitely taste the peanut butter in the pancakes. What's good about these pancakes is that they're lower in carbs and higher in protein, which is definitely a plus. I'll definitely be adding these to my pancake rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
I really wanted to like this recipe, but these just didn't taste like peanut butter pancakes. The texture was good - nice and thick, and I liked the addition of oatmeal (although not everyone did). However, we couldn't taste the peanut butter at all, and that was after increasing it like other reviewers suggested. These aren't bad pancakes, but if you're specifically looking for peanut butter pancakes, they really don't live up to the name.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
It was fairly good. Could have done without the oats but it gave it a "crunchy peanut butter" texture. However, it was a tasty breakfast treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CLM8203
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I made two changes based on the other reviews. I cut the milk (1%) to 1 1/2 cups. I also increased the peanut butter to 1/4 cup. The pancaked cooked up fat and brown. The results were so good even my picky 16 month-old liked them. We didn't have strawberry jam, so we just used syrup. One warning--if you are looking for a pancake with a traditional consistency, this is not for you. These pancakes are thicker and heavier than their traditional cousins--perfect for a warm, filling evening meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This is a great recipe. The first time I made these, I think that I mixed too long and cooked on too high a heat. The second time they came out perfect. Everyone loved them with strawberry preserves and maple syrup. They are not sweet AT ALL so you want to add something sweet on top. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jwelch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Estero, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I have made this several times now and it is a hit with my homemade strawberry syrup! I cut the milk by almost half though because it was way to thin and we like a thicker heartier pancake. I also added a lot more peanut butter ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcjj

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
We love to make this recipe and put banana slices on the pancakes before we flip them instead of using jelly. They are so good and so filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I highly recommend putting the oats and WARM milk together, let sit 5 min, then add the rest of the wet ingredients as listed. Then finish off by not stirring too much. It makes for a lovely, more moist pancakes (that is great to warm up for leftovers if one or two are leftover). I usually make 3 x of this recipe for my 5 kids. As for the jam: put it in a saucepan with 2 tbsp water to the 1/4 c jam and bring up to the point where the jam melts into the water (about a simmer). More of a lovely syrup to soak into those pancakes without cooling them down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
These are delicious! After reading other reviews I used 4 tbps of peanut butter instead of 3 and I let the batter sit for 5 minutes so it could thicken. We ate them with black raspberry jam instead of strawberry because that was all we had on hand. Also tried a few with butter and syrup and they were good. Will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HollyM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Exactly as written, the batter turns out very runny (I made a test pancake, which turned out flat--even for a pancake). I added about 1/4 cup of ground golden flaxseed and allowed the batter to sit for 15 minutes and that firmed it enough. I topped them with warm strawberry-rhubarb jam. My daughters loved them, and I'll make them again with the flaxseed. Finely diced peanuts would also be a good addition and would help boost the peanut flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States