Peanut Butter and Cream Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Something tells me I'm going to have trouble resisting making a piggy of myself on this one! Other than thinking the peanut butter filling could be a tad sweeter, this is dessert perfection on a plate, particularly if you're a peanut butter/chocolate fan. I used a Turtle Brownie mix and baked it in a 9" springform pan and I liked the texture contrast from the nuts in this particular mix. The filling is beautiful - creamy, fluffy and delicious, but if I make this again I'll try increasing the powdered sugar by a quarter cup, to 3/4 cup, tho' I have no complaints about this just as is! Rather than garnishing with the recommended chocolate shavings, I topped it with chopped peanut butter cups, then with a drizzle of the caramel that came included with the mix, and a drizzle of hot fudge sauce. What a great recipe - foolproof to prepare, decadently delicious, and makes a beautiful and impressive presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by MarielJD
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
This dessert ROCKS!!! Peanut butter and chocolate heaven! Not really a brownie, more like a decadent, impressive dessert. I followed the recipe, using a 9-in. springform pan, but instead of the chocolate shavings I used Naples34102 idea for the topping: chopped up peanut butter cups, and a drizzle of caramel and hot fudge sauces. If you want a dessert that's really easy and a real showstopper don't hesitate with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarielJD
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
This is heaven on a plate! I used Jif's natural (creamy) peanut butter instead of the extra crunchy. I also made my own crust using chocolate graham crackers instead of the brownie since I didn't have a mix on hand. It was a hit! So rich and decadent! Thanks Jif!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LukesMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Robesonia, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by ANJACKSON
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Wow...this was divine! A chocolate and peanut butter lover's dream!! I used a chocolate chunk brownie mix as that's what I had on hand, used light Cool Whip, light cream cheese and used all natural crunchy peanut butter. As I don't find natural peanut butter as sweet as the other, I did increase my sugar by a bit, maybe closer to 3/4 cup. Drizzled the top with some caramel sauce and garnished with some mini semi-sweet chocolate chips! So decadent and yummy, it was a huge hit and I will certainly make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I would give this 4.5 stars if I could! Very easy to make and very delicious. I recommend buying two 8oz containers of Cool Whip instead of one 12oz as I barely had enough for the specified usage. I used a 9 inch springform pan and thought the brownie bottom was a bit too thick in comparison to the peanut butter cream cheese layer. Next time I will not use all of the brownie mix. You can't go wrong with this recipe! Very addicting dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
This was amazing. My husband made it under my supervision for a party we were having and it was incredible. Just a heads-up, the term brownie in the title denotes a square cut, but it's really round. It may sound silly but when you're having a party and thinking, "finger foods for dessert, good brownies, so i don't have to serve", just realize that you have to serve it in slices. Or just weird shaped portions. Regardless, AMAZING. so simple and such simple ingredients. Too easy. If Kevin can make it flaw free, then anyone can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire Wood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Hall, Maryland, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
My husband loved this! He didn't even care that there was cream cheese in it. Definitely a keeper! Only changes I made were I used an 8 oz. tub of Cool Whip since that's all I had and even though I kept out about 3/4 cup for decorating the top it was still plenty of 'fluff' in the peanut butter layer. Also, I used a 10 inch springform pan instead of 9. It turned out perfect, just the right thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I made this to take to our Easter gathering and it was a hit! I used a 9 1/2” springform pan. I used creamy peanut butter and increased the powdered sugar to 3/4 cup. I made this a day ahead of time and refrigerated it. I was able to get nice clean cuts by heating my chef’s knife under hot water and wiping it dry before each cut. I didn’t spread the whipped topping on as the top layer, but instead added some on top of each piece after drizzling it with chocolate syrup and caramel. Decadent, delicious and rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Next time (and it'll be very soon) I'll try a scratch brownie recipe; spray the springform GOOD; use a little more of the Extra Crunchy Peanut Butter, and only use the EXTRA creamy topping. I used the regular Cool Whip, which was good, but the extra would had been better. I did drizzle fudge & carmel sauces along with chopped Reeces...my family loved it, thank you all for your suggestions, DELICIOUS! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
After letting it sit for a few hours it was okay, I was only going to give it four stars. Then I let it sit overnight, and yummy! Everyone in my house went absolutely crazy over it. I didn't have a springform pan at my dad's house, so I had to use a petite Corningware casserole dish, which worked out just fine. I also used creamy peanut butter, which I will do next time, as well (I will also double the whipped topping). Make sure to crush up some Reese's on top for a tasty addition! Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal River, Florida, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

JIF(R) Irresistible Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make classic peanut butter cookies.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States