Peanut Butter and Chocolate Candy Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I love this recipe!! We have easy access to Tastycakes here in NE Pennsylvania, but I like this even better! I use milk chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet, and it's much better. This is a hit every time I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marcy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
This certainly does satify my cravings for Tandy Cakes since they don't sell them here in Texas! I did follow the advice of putting the peanut butter on first and then chilling it in the frig before putting on a milk chocolate layer (I use a big Hershey bar that I melt). Also, score the chocolate while it's soft and it will be easier to cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
Great recipe. Fortunately I live in an area where Tasty cakes are available, but this is a close second to the real thing. I do recommend adding the milk before adding the flour. I made the mistake of adding the sugar and flour before the milk and the batter go to thick for my mixer. I will defintely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
Being a true Philadelphian, I love this recipe. I do prefer it with milk chocolate and separate layers of peanut butter and chocolate! Excellent and everyone loves it!! Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2002
Agree with milk chocolate chips over semi-sweet. Found the peanut butter overwhelming, so the second time I made it, I reduced the peanut butter to 3/4-cup and the chips to 1-1/2 cups. Seemed more balanced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
I found this recipe when I was a kid, and I LOVED making it with my mom. Over the years, I lost it...until now! Im going to make it tonight! It sounds very similar to the one I used to have...I recommend melting the choc. to make layers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2000
I have missed the Philly "staple" of Tastykakes, and especially Peanut Butter Tandytakes, ever since I moved out of the region. Had a recipe for this that was vaguely written. Was thrilled to find this easy to follow recipe on the web. Made them for a party and they were an instant hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2000
This recipe is really rich! It's it's really very good though. Kids love it (I should know I am one) :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
My husband loves peanut butter so he loved this cake! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coaldale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
Maybe you have to be from Pennsylvania to really appreciate this recipe. Being from Northeast PA we love Tastykakes and this recipe. Thanks for sharing it as I had lost mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States