Peanut Butter and Chocolate Candy Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 24, 2008
I to grew up in PA. I'm now in VT and miss my Tasty cakes. This recipe was great I followed exactly untill it came to the chocolate. I used Herseys milk cholcolte candy bars and after spreading the peanut butter I just put the bars on the hot cake and spread it very gently and then put it in the fridge turned out wonderful thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
I found this recipe when I was a kid, and I LOVED making it with my mom. Over the years, I lost it...until now! Im going to make it tonight! It sounds very similar to the one I used to have...I recommend melting the choc. to make layers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I think this recipe was great, but made a couple changes myself. I used 1/2 all-purpose flour and 1/2 whole wheat flour with a little extra milk rather than just all-purpose, which gave the cake a little more body and made it a little more filling and satisfying. And, rather than wait for the chocolate chips to melt, I kept the cake in the oven for only a minute or two until they were softened and then smeared them with a knife so the cake didn't dry out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I love this recipe!! We have easy access to Tastycakes here in NE Pennsylvania, but I like this even better! I use milk chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet, and it's much better. This is a hit every time I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marcy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
This would have been a perfect cake had it not been for putting the cake back in the oven to melt the morsels. The cake got dried out and the morsels would not melt. Melt the morsels in a double boiler and spread over the peanut butter. Much better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
Great recipe! Was a big hit at our house. I prefer the milk chocolate chips and added powdered (confectioners) sugar to the peanut butter - tasted exactly like tasty cakes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I truly love this recipe. I used Hershey's milk chocolate instead of semisweet chocolate chips and i put the peanut butter and the chocolate on both sides. No matter where I go they ask me to make this for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
Being a true Philadelphian, I love this recipe. I do prefer it with milk chocolate and separate layers of peanut butter and chocolate! Excellent and everyone loves it!! Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
Great recipe. Fortunately I live in an area where Tasty cakes are available, but this is a close second to the real thing. I do recommend adding the milk before adding the flour. I made the mistake of adding the sugar and flour before the milk and the batter go to thick for my mixer. I will defintely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
This certainly does satify my cravings for Tandy Cakes since they don't sell them here in Texas! I did follow the advice of putting the peanut butter on first and then chilling it in the frig before putting on a milk chocolate layer (I use a big Hershey bar that I melt). Also, score the chocolate while it's soft and it will be easier to cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States