Peanut Butter and Chocolate Candy Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Awesome! Taste just like the Tasty Cake version. Could use a thicker chocolate layer though. Next time, I will use 3 cups chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I've made this recipe for this cake twice in as many days, and both times the cake came out with the consistency of corn bread...not at all good. I will NEVER use this recipe again and I suggest you avoid it at all costs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I love how easy this recipe is. I usually have tips after making, but not for this one. I made as a two-layer cake per my daughter's birthday request. Since this works best when you put the peanut butter and chocolate chips on warm cake, I had to pry the cake out of the pans before it was completely cool. I could use some tips on that (I did grease and flour pans). FYI - when you make and serve from a 10x15 jelly roll pan, it's EASY and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Growing up in the Philly area meant Tastykakes were a main staple in my lunch box! Definitely just like my favorite Tastykake of all, and yes, the milk chocolate chips are better to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Being from South Jersey, and living in South Carolina now, I looooooved these! You can't get Tasty Cakes here! Thank you soooo much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AprilLynn25

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Audubon, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Longs, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KimberlyKTX
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I just made this, and they came out fantastic! I have to admit, I'm one who believes that you taste with your eyes first - so instead of following the directions for baking I used my cupcake pans to get the desired 'Tandy Kake' effect. Once they were cooked, I removed them from the pan and spread some peanut butter on top of each cake. I melted my chocolate in a double boiler and spread it over the cakes, plopping a largish 'blob' on top of the cake. Then I quickly spread the chocolate over the cake to the sides and 'frosted' around the cake to the edges. Be careful not to mess with the top too much if you are going to use this method because the heat of the chocolate melts the peanut butter and it tends to bleed into the chocolate a little bit. Once they were 'frosted' I popped them into the freezer for 3 minutes to 'set' the chocolate. They were MOST excellent! Thanks so much for sharing a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimberlyKTX

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
i made this recipe for the cake but I cooked for the full amount of time. then spread the peanut butter while it was still warm. Also i melted hershey bars in the microwave and used them instead of chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
The same family recipe I had been searching for years to find! Just chill before you add melted chocolate chips, and you're golden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PASTRYPIXIE

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Manville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
The ingredients for the cake are the exact same as the one I got from my Mom's church cookbook. Same goes for the peanut butter. The easier thing to do(like my version says) is melt down an 8 ounce Hershey Bar(that's pretty close to home here) and spread on the cake and cool completely in the fridge for about 15-20 minutes. Now you'll have to let set a few minutes before cutting, but these are the BEST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
Made these for my husbands birthday to take to work... he said they didn't last five minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States