Peanut Butter and Banana Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
This recipe is great and you can modify it to make a filling breakfast. I skip the honey and add about an 1/8 cup of rolled oats. Its so good and fills me up right through lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
335 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
This is even better if you cut the banana in chunks and freeze it before using. Also even better to use 1 cup milk and put in in the freezer for about 45 min or intil it is slushy before making the smoothie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
240 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
I have been experimenting with smoothies lately and my 8 yr old proclaimed this "The best ever" and said we should make it every day. My one year old really enjoyed it too (I thinnned hers down with extra milk). I doubled the recipe, froze the bananas to add some coolness and just blended the honey in with everything instead of drizzling it on at the end. I think I will cut the honey down next time as I though it was a tad sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seana Murphy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
I changed the drink to make it more of an after dinner snack or dessert. I suggest adding a tablespoon (or more) of nutella as well as a cup of vanilla ice cream. This made it a cold, frothy and slightly chocolately tasting goodie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
Having been recently diagnosed with a yeast condition in which I must stay away from sugar, I've been looking for recipes without added sugar. This tasted really more food-like and not so sugary. I used old-fashioned peanut butter and 2 small ripe bananas with 2% milk. It was yummy and satisfying without making you feel bloated from lots of sugar like other smoothies! Thank you Diane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Fantastic! I loved the texture of the crunchy peanut butter in with this oh so smooth smoothie. I used frozen banana and a little simple syrup instead of honey to sweeten (abt a teaspoon), and about double the milk to bring the smoothie to the right thickness. It was smooth, thick, creamy, and delicious. Definitely one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Sheppard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
Great! I used regular whole milk and it turned out wonderful. This will be a regular at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Bridges

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
Awesome! Can't believe I didn't think of it myself. It seems so simple, and is really, really good. Add 3 ice cubes to the blender to make it cool. I don't use the honey, as I find that too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2002
Very yummy!! But next time I will freeze the banana first as the entire drink was somewhat warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This is a surprisingly filling mid-morning meal. I've made this dozens of times and here are some tips: - Using a ripe frozen banana, you don't really need any added sweetener so I usually skip the honey and it still tastes great. - I use almond milk (unsweetened vanilla) instead of soy which has better, richer taste to it. - Add 1/4 cup of old-fashioned oats, it really thickens the smoothie and makes the drink more filling too. - Experiment with different nut butters. I've also made this with almond, cashew and hazelnut butter, all are great but each has its own unique flavor to it. - If you're looking to watch the calories, you can use a peanut powder instead of peanut butter (just make sure that peanuts are first in the ingredients list).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States