Peanut Butter and Banana French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
very, very good as is...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shelton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Kids fav. I added a t of sugar to the egg, pinch of salt too and some Cinnamon. Also to move away from the total mush factor I used super crunch Jif peanut butter. Also, used a drizzle of honey instead of the usual maple syrup, with a nod to Elvis for the inspiration. Hunka chunka burnin' ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tspade3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
So I made this recipe because I seen it on the main page, and have also seen cooks cooking it on tfv lately. So I tried it out....its O.K. Nothing special. For me it's alittle THIIIIICK. You wouldn't wanna eat this without a drink. Other than that its a different spin on french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSSPARKLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Made it this morning and got thumbs up from my 7 and 3 year old. Split one sandwich between them and cut 3 year old's up. 7 year old wanted to cut it himself (independent stage) and it was a mess. I gave him another half and he asked just to dip it in syrup- worked much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This was a quick recipe to jazz up simple french toast and change it up a bit. The kids loved it! My daughter actually grabbed one and chomped on it as if a sandwich, no syrup necessary for her. Only addition I made was to add about 3 Tablespoons of milk to the egg and vanilla extract blend and I followed the advice in the reviews and added a touch of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Bobby Flay reviewed a very similar recipe made at a restaurant in San Diego. They added a couple tablespoons of rum(an inexpensive one) to the egg mixture. They also used day old wheat bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Peanut butter and bananas are a great combination, but sandwich them between french toast and you have a warm gooey treat for breakfast! I love peanut butter and any new way of eating it -I'll try it! I was a bit liberal with the vanilla and added a little milk, sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg to the batter. I just eyeballed the ingredients, because I've been making french toast for years! Overall, this was very good especially dusted with confectioners' sugar and drizzled with a little maple syrup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I didn't take others advice and failed to use cinnamon. I think that was a mistake. It needed a little extra something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Great, quick breakfast. Only complaint was I tasted too much egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
3 stars as is. 4 stars if the toast is made before putting the peanut butter and bananas on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Destiny

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States