Peachy Bread Pudding with Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
I had fresh peaches that I needed to use and I love bread pudding so this recipe seemed to be a perfect fit. I used 6 fresh peaches which I know made almost 3 cups of peaches. The peach flavoring did not seem to be as intense as a piece of peach pie. I also added an extra egg as many suggested. I will make this recipe again, but i am going to punch up the peach flovoring. More peaches? Peach flavoring? Some peachgelatin disolved in hot liquid and added to the mix? It was plenty rich as is, the caramel just put it over the top sweetness wise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by normal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
First time, I made this with freshly picked extra juicy peaches, came out awesome. Second time was great. This last time made it with store bought white peaches that weren't as sweet and juicy and it definitely made a difference. It's best with juicy, fresh, sweet peaches. I like to make sure the bread is extra crusty, in fact lightly toasting the bread chunks ensures it doesn't come out too wet and slimey and gets that perfect custardy toothsomeness. Once used egg substitute (flax seed meal and water) bc we were out of eggs. It worked but it wasn't as good. Also used coconut cream instead of condensed milk bc we were out and that was a great sub!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
Not a fan of this recipe. Seemed too dry. However, my husband loved it. I gave three stars as a medium rating since he loved it. I probably won't ever make again unless I do some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
I didn't have any peaches so I just made this plain with a loaf of stale French bread that I had. It was fantastic - especially with the caramel sauce. I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Excellent recipe and we are a family that loves bread pudding. The peaches I had were not ripe enough to use so I used canned ( not expecting to like it), boy was I wrong. I used two cans of diced peaches in heavy syrup (drained, I did not mash them as we like big chunks of peaches. In place of the hot water I used the heavy syrup I drained from the peaches which equaled a little less than 1 1/4 cup, it was plenty of liquid. I baked in a dish smaller than called for in the recipe to make it thicker and baked 1 hour and 15 mn. I left the rum out of the sauce and replaced with vanilla. This dish is superb and I will be making for a family gathering next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Great flavor 7/14
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
This was SO GOOD! I think next time I'll use more peaches, because I can never have enough peaches :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lugoff, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bosemell
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
It turned out so good!!! I didn't make the caramel sauce, and used pre made ice cream caramel topping from grocery store instead! I put a scoop of vanilla frosting on top instead of whip cream!! I will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Maybe it is just me, but this didn't seem very sweet to me. I expected it to taste really sweet with the sweetened condensed milk, but it tasted like soggy bread and peaches. The cinnamon flavor was barely noticeable. I think next time, I will use cinnamon swirled bread to give it more flavor. Or I will decrease the water and add more cinnamon. Also the caramel sauce tasted like sweet sugary butter, not caramel. I will try reducing the butter in it next time that I make it. Also, grease your 9x13 pan really well; I greased mine with Canola oil but the whole recipe stuck like glue to it. I hate cleaning stuck on food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This was amazing. Served it warm with french vanilla ice cream and it was over the top. I left out the rum because I didnt have any but it was wonderful without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bud, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States