Peaches and Cream Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
Peaches at their peak of flavor and a "five star" crust earned me lots of compliments on this recipe. I was aprehensive about the gelatin layer but it turned out fine; there was just too much of it. No room left to frost with the whipped topping so I spooned it on for serving with a sprinkling of chopped pecans. I would make this again with any fruit in season and the corresponding Jell-O.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2004
I have had this pie many times at potlucks and parties and always wanted to try it myself. Great pie. Everyone loves this. Perfect for a hot summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
I thought the pie was great, but I did make some modifications. I used ground walnuts for the crust and thought that it tasted fabulous. I also did not put the whipped topping in the cream cheese mixture, but instead used two packages of cream cheese. It was served to about 8 people and they all thought it was great. Warning: it made a whole 9x13 pan full to the brim.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
Fabulous! I found it pretty sweet and will probably use less sugar next time. But overall it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
WOW! This is the best recipe I have found at AllRecipes...no joke and my favorite one made this Fall. The combination of the Jello filling and fresh peaches absolutely hits the spot. Way to go TARA! I only changed a few things. I doubled the amount of sugar in the crust for a little extra sweetness. And, used more peaches (8 instead of 5). I also liked to just dollop some fresh whip cream on the top as opposed to cool whip. Good eats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
we all thoroughly enjoyed this recipe. I found that the peach layer didn't set up completely, could be that it didn't sit in fridge long enough or i didn't cook long enough. This recipe works well with lemon pudding and pie filling instead of the peached(skip the jello step and make 2 packages of lemon pie filling awesome) the only change i made was i used chopped almonds and 2 tbls of sugar instead. the other thing people could do with the cream cheese layer is use 2 pkg of cream cheese, 1 cup of sugar and 1 cup of whip cream, that works very well. will definitely be making this again, we also try with different fruit as well thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I thought this recipe was way too much work for an ordinary result. The crust was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
Oh my goodness, this was DELICIOUS! I think I could have eaten the whole thing myself in one setting... but some how I managed to restrain myself, lol. The crust tastes like a pecan shortbread cookie and is absolutely fantastic. I used two packages of cream cheese in that layer, but that was the only change I made to the original recipe. The whole thing just comes together so well and is absolutely one of the best desserts I have made in a LONG time. Thank you so much for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Robertsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DebbyV
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
This is definitely a 5 star dish!! We loved it even though it seemed to take a long time to make (the cooling of the crust and the jello mixture and then waiting for the jello to set up). The only changes that I made were walnuts instead of pecans and I used less sugar. It was plenty sweet after cutting more than 1/2 cup of sugar from the jello layer. I will probably use more cream cheese next time, only because I love that layer the most. The fresh peaches make this dish so cool and refreshing for this time of year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edinburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
Wow! This is good! I made changes to this recipe only to make it somewhat healthier. This is what I did. With the rust I omitted the Tbsp. sugar and used walnuts only because I could not find any pecans in my grocery store without the chemical BHT in them. Then I used 2 pkgs. cream cheese and added 2 cups REAL whipped cream with only 1/2 cup confectioners sugar. Yum! Now for the topping, I mixed 3/4 cup sugar with the 4 Tbsps. cornstarch and added 2 cups organic peach juice (not made from concentrate)instead of the water and cooked that until thick. Meanwhile I sprinkled 2 Tbsp plain Bernard Jensen gelatin over the remaining cup of peach juice to soften the gelatin. Then I poured the hot over the cold juice and added 6 large sliced peaches. I covered it and chilled it in the fridge. O man was this good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States