Peach Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Very tasty! I made this exactly as written with the exception of using vanilla extract rather than the almond. I lined my pan with non-stick foil and was able to remove the entire cake from the pan, inverted it onto a cooling rack, and peeled back the foil. I used sliced canned peaches and even though I blotted them with paper towels before assembling, there was still a lot of liquid that leaked out of the topping once I had it on the cooling rack. However, it didn’t seem to adversely affect the cake in any way. To serve I sprinkled each piece with a little additional coconut and added whipped cream, a cherry and a sprig of mint! Beautiful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Oh my goodness! Thank you so much, Terri, for the wonderful recipe. I think those reviewers that change things out from the original recipe are not fair when they give a low rating. I did change a couple of things: I substituted quick oats for the amount of coconut because I don't care for coconut. Also, I doubled the cake ingredients and added 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon. I baked it in a soneware bundt pan for 50 minutes at 350 degrees. It was a smash hit at my ladies meeting, and I believe your recipe in its original form still deserves 5 stars! I would give it more if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I prepared this cake following the recipe except that I used fresh ripe peaches. It looked great and tasted delicious!! Will definitely make it again; simple and elegant served with a dollop of whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cranberry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This wasn't a WOW dessert for me, but it was sure pretty good. The only thing I did differently is use canned apricots (didn't have peaches...). I put it in the oven when I took the roast out. By the time we were finished dinner, dessert was just coming out of the oven! MMM If I was to change anything, I think I would double the batter recipe so there was more "cake" which would look a little more attractive for serving. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This cake is quick and delicious. I've also used blackberries and other fruits as well and they are all delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I made this and took it to a friend's house. They loved it and so did we. I did modify some things but I will give it 5 stars for a great base recipe for peach cake. I used 2 tbsp of butter instead of 1/3 cup and did not melt it (just spread it in the pan). I did not have eggs so I used 1/4 cup applesauce instead, and sprinkled extra coconut on the top when I inverted it. It was the BEST. I will definitely be making this again. Very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Delicious! I used fresh peaches, spelt flour, & unsulphured coconut. I loved the almond taste; I had imitation almond extract, so the quantity was fine. I did bake it at 300 degrees for 25 minutes, and then at 350 another 20 minutes or so until done. I displayed it on a pedestal plate and served it on my Depression Glass dessert plates with real whipped cream. It made a lovely presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This ia an excellent little cake for a small family. I LOVED this cake. I had to give it away or else I would have eaten the whole thing myself. SOOOO GOOD ! This is defintely one I have to put in my recipe folder. KEEP FOLDER ! NO DOUBT !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mommy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Belize City, Belize District, Belize
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I made this peach of a cake a couple of times now and love it. I've used fresh or canned peaches and it comes out just as good either way. I did replace the almond extract with vanilla only because I was making this for others and thought sometimes people don't care for the almond flavor. It's a nice size too if there is going to be an array of different dessert offerings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Wow. This was easy-peasey and turned out perfectly. I always seem to botch anything I bake, but this turned out good, and cooked perfectly in 50 minutes. Delicious warm with vanilla ice cream. I highly recommend this for novice bakers like me who want to try a simple cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States