Peach Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Very tasty! I made this exactly as written with the exception of using vanilla extract rather than the almond. I lined my pan with non-stick foil and was able to remove the entire cake from the pan, inverted it onto a cooling rack, and peeled back the foil. I used sliced canned peaches and even though I blotted them with paper towels before assembling, there was still a lot of liquid that leaked out of the topping once I had it on the cooling rack. However, it didn’t seem to adversely affect the cake in any way. To serve I sprinkled each piece with a little additional coconut and added whipped cream, a cherry and a sprig of mint! Beautiful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Oh my goodness! Thank you so much, Terri, for the wonderful recipe. I think those reviewers that change things out from the original recipe are not fair when they give a low rating. I did change a couple of things: I substituted quick oats for the amount of coconut because I don't care for coconut. Also, I doubled the cake ingredients and added 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon. I baked it in a soneware bundt pan for 50 minutes at 350 degrees. It was a smash hit at my ladies meeting, and I believe your recipe in its original form still deserves 5 stars! I would give it more if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I prepared this cake following the recipe except that I used fresh ripe peaches. It looked great and tasted delicious!! Will definitely make it again; simple and elegant served with a dollop of whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cranberry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This wasn't a WOW dessert for me, but it was sure pretty good. The only thing I did differently is use canned apricots (didn't have peaches...). I put it in the oven when I took the roast out. By the time we were finished dinner, dessert was just coming out of the oven! MMM If I was to change anything, I think I would double the batter recipe so there was more "cake" which would look a little more attractive for serving. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This cake is quick and delicious. I've also used blackberries and other fruits as well and they are all delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I made this and took it to a friend's house. They loved it and so did we. I did modify some things but I will give it 5 stars for a great base recipe for peach cake. I used 2 tbsp of butter instead of 1/3 cup and did not melt it (just spread it in the pan). I did not have eggs so I used 1/4 cup applesauce instead, and sprinkled extra coconut on the top when I inverted it. It was the BEST. I will definitely be making this again. Very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Delicious! I used fresh peaches, spelt flour, & unsulphured coconut. I loved the almond taste; I had imitation almond extract, so the quantity was fine. I did bake it at 300 degrees for 25 minutes, and then at 350 another 20 minutes or so until done. I displayed it on a pedestal plate and served it on my Depression Glass dessert plates with real whipped cream. It made a lovely presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This ia an excellent little cake for a small family. I LOVED this cake. I had to give it away or else I would have eaten the whole thing myself. SOOOO GOOD ! This is defintely one I have to put in my recipe folder. KEEP FOLDER ! NO DOUBT !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mommy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Belize City, Belize District, Belize
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I made this peach of a cake a couple of times now and love it. I've used fresh or canned peaches and it comes out just as good either way. I did replace the almond extract with vanilla only because I was making this for others and thought sometimes people don't care for the almond flavor. It's a nice size too if there is going to be an array of different dessert offerings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Wow. This was easy-peasey and turned out perfectly. I always seem to botch anything I bake, but this turned out good, and cooked perfectly in 50 minutes. Delicious warm with vanilla ice cream. I highly recommend this for novice bakers like me who want to try a simple cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States