Peach Upside-Down Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
First let me say that I always try any recipe as is written the first time, then make any needed changes. However, I had 10 very ripe peaches that needed to be used today but did not have all of the other ingredients so my changes were out of desperation! :) After reading all other reviews I decided to double the batter to have a better cake/peach ratio. I didn't have any white sugar so I used brown, was all out of cinnamon so I used nutmeg and ground ginger (which I think I will keep as the spice in here) and didn't have baking soda so I used a prepared baking mix in place of dry ingredients, but added a little more flour so it would be cakey. Lastly, I sliced the peaches into 1/8ths because I had so many. This turned out amazing and I will definitely make this again and again! This was a challenge from my hubby to make a dessert to use up all of the peaches we had, but to not make a cobbler...I think I nailed it! Thank you for a great recipe and great inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Way too much cinnamon in the cake. Made the whole thing taste funny. We had one piece each and threw the rest out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
This was delicious! It does not have enough batter though. I read some of the reviews and doubled the batter portion to make it enough to fill around the peaches. The recipe is so good though. The peaches are so sweet and balance out the light batter. I added extra cinnamon though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McKennacat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paw Paw, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Fresh peaches are key! This was scrumptious. The consistency was more of a bread pudding than a cake. Lovely with a little bit of whipped cream or just a bit of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
It states 6 large fresh peaches. So I bought 6 large fresh peaches that were firm thinking that the baking would soften them up. The blanching was a disaster and I could not seperate the stone from the peaches. I threw them away. It should state that you need 6 large fresh RIPE peaches so that the skins are easy to peal and the stone easy to remove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josephine
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Saffron
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
hmmmm yummy! Im eating it right now. Good recipe, although, i made a few changes. I used slightly more flour, didnt have almond extract so i used extra vanilla and cinammon and made my own buttermilk (with lemon juice and milk). I also baked it in a loaf pan instead, dusted it with icing sugar and it came out beautifully! The only problem that I had, was that i made the serving size for 4 and there didnt seem to be enought batter at all, so I made second batch to add with the first. All in all, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Made this recipe after reading other reviews. Added 1/4 cup more flour and 1/4 tsp. more cinnamon; used Splenda brown sugar in bottom of pan, and used regular Splenda, but cut to 1/4 cup in the cake. Also, cut peaches into eighths. Very, very good. Will certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
this is very good with vanilla bean icecream on a summer day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugermonger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Made this the other week, as is, and it came out wonderfully in my cast-iron skillet! I even made a video of it as it steamed and looked delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willmar, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Falcon, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
okay i made this recipe like 3 times now and every time it comes out runny and bread pudding like? I am not using a cast iron skillet i am just using a pan then putting the peach mixture into a bunt cake pan then pouring the flour/batter mixture on top of that and cooking for 25 minutes???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States