Peach Preserves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
I have tried making and canning 3 different recipes for peach preserves and this is by far our favorite. I love that you don't peel the peaches, it made it much easier to prepare and the skins added a lovely rosy color to the preserves. Also, since they are diced instead of sliced, they seem to hold their shape a little better and not all float to the top of the jar. I read that in preserves, the liquid should be about the thickness of honey, and that is how it turned out for me, not too liquid at all, but also not too sticky to spread. We have given jars of these preserves as gifts and gotten rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
251 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
This recipe has been rewritten. The original submission did not call for the addition of water, and this ingredient was mistakenly included when the recipe was published on our site. We apologize for the inconvenience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
282 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
A little thinner than a jam, but excellent. Great flavor. This recipe made 7 1/2 8oz jars full for me. I also mashed the peaches during the cooking to a much finer pulp than suggested in the recipe. I'm definitely going to do it again! I recommend using "seconds" (bruised extras) from your local market. Also,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
Great recipe. Turned out perfectly with no modifications. I will make this again. I don't know if I am am the only one who didn't notice, but some brands of pectin do not have 2 ounces of pectin in the package. I added some from a second package. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
The best peach preserves recipe - I have ever used or eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This recipe is delicious! The peaches I used were very juicy, maybe even on the overripe side and cooking the peaches down for 20 minutes was essential for eliminating the extra water. However when I went back to measure the liquid amount I only had 4 cups, so I reduced the amount of sugar to 3/12 cups and used the 1.75 oz package of pectin. It set very well, not as thick as jam, but it wasn't runny either. The flavor was very good, and I love the color. The only other change I made was to add a cinnamon stick and a pinch of nutmeg for just a hint of spice. This is a sweet preserve, but the sugar does help it set. Will definitly make again, probably today or tomorrow because the batch I just made is already almost gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: May 7, 2005
Yummy! This was so easy, and my mother was really impressed! Thanks Kevin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
My preserves came out great, the recipe was easy and great tasting. I will definetly be using again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
My husband and I used this recipe. We had never canned anything! This recipe made a delicious preserve. I am so proud to give jars out to people I know. Even my picky daughter loves it. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This was my first time making peach preserves or canning anything. This recipe turned out wonderful! I added more of the pectin from a second pouch since they were only 1.75oz It came out thick and perfect. A little more on the chunky side than I would like it, but everyone else loves it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Peach Preserves

These fragrant, fruity preserves are amazing on toast, biscuits, and pork chops.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Peach Crisp III

Granola and oats combine with fresh peaches in this 5-star dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States