Peach Preserves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Lovely color and consistency but way too sweet to eat. Recipe called for 4 1/2 cups sugar to 6 cups cooked underripe peaches. Used 4 cups of sugar to 6 cups of cooked ripe peaches. So sugary it could put someone in a coma! Had to toss the entire batch. If you decide to try this recipe, I recommend that you start with 2 cups of sugar, taste and add more sugar in 1/2 cup increments until you get to the desired sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
307 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
This recipe has been rewritten. The original submission did not call for the addition of water, and this ingredient was mistakenly included when the recipe was published on our site. We apologize for the inconvenience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
284 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
I have tried making and canning 3 different recipes for peach preserves and this is by far our favorite. I love that you don't peel the peaches, it made it much easier to prepare and the skins added a lovely rosy color to the preserves. Also, since they are diced instead of sliced, they seem to hold their shape a little better and not all float to the top of the jar. I read that in preserves, the liquid should be about the thickness of honey, and that is how it turned out for me, not too liquid at all, but also not too sticky to spread. We have given jars of these preserves as gifts and gotten rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
255 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I just finished making 42 half-pint jars of these peach preserves. This was my first time to make preserves, and I found this recipe quite easy for beginners. I loved that there is no peeling, no lemon squeezing, and no skimming to do. I think the secret to success is to be sure to bring the fruit and sugar mixture to a gentle boil that continues even when stirred, before adding the pectin. If you add the pectin too soon, your preserves may end up runny. Also, remember that this is a preserve recipe. Preserves don't set up like jelly. They should be about the consistency of honey. That's exactly what I got, and the flavor is wonderful! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
A little thinner than a jam, but excellent. Great flavor. This recipe made 7 1/2 8oz jars full for me. I also mashed the peaches during the cooking to a much finer pulp than suggested in the recipe. I'm definitely going to do it again! I recommend using "seconds" (bruised extras) from your local market. Also,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
This was my first time making any type of homemade preserves and I was very pleased with it! I had slightly less peaches - maybe 8 or 9 - so reduced the sugar somewhat. I wanted to make a "Spiced Peach Preserves", so I added a cinnamon stick, 4 cloves and half a nutmeg pod tied in cheesecloth to the peach mixture while cooking. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
Great recipe. Turned out perfectly with no modifications. I will make this again. I don't know if I am am the only one who didn't notice, but some brands of pectin do not have 2 ounces of pectin in the package. I added some from a second package. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
The best peach preserves recipe - I have ever used or eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2001
this is not a recipe for first time preserve makers or even someone who does not understand the recipe amounts and mine did not turn out, it was runny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Awesome recipe! My 14 year old daughter helped me with this and as for it not being a recipe for beginners, not so. The recipe explained itself and what to do completely to our understanding and turned out just fine. Was glad to find a recipe where we didn't have to peel the peaches. *update: I just wanted to add that my 14 year old entered this in our county fair and won a purple (first) place ribbon. For those who don't like their preserves 'this sweet', you can try to lessen the sugar but the sugar is what helps the pectin to thickens and sets the preserves. I feel this recipe is great as written and advise not messing with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Peach Preserves

These fragrant, fruity preserves are amazing on toast, biscuits, and pork chops.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Peach Crisp III

Granola and oats combine with fresh peaches in this 5-star dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States