Peach Preserves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
My preserves look great and taste delicious. However, they never "set" like preserves and are more like a syrup (which we will use on pancakes & ice cream). I followed the recipe exactly except used liquid pectin rather than dry b/c that's all I had. Not sure why liquid pectin wouldn't work the same as dry?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This is a great recipe. I did add about a quarter cup of apple juice when I starting cooking down the peaches, as I had no liquid in the pot without the juice. That worked well. I used 12 large peaches, which produced 10 cups of peachy deliciousness. To that 10 cups, I only added 3 cups of sugar, and that was plenty. It yielded 13 8oz jelly jars of preserves. I was also worried a bit about having peach skins in my jam, as I didn't peel the peaches. But no skins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
These preserves are wonderful. I followed the recipe exactly and got 9 (1/2 pint) jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMI426

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Very good! I changed it slightly: I had 10 large peaches, which was about 8 cups diced, and about 7 cups of pulp. I used just 4 cups of sugar cause I don't like my jams or preserves to be too sweet. And I also added a small pad of butter to prevent excess foaming. Came out great though and very pretty! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This was so easy. However, like one other person I started with just 2 cups of sugar and then added another half cup. My family thought they were perfect with just the 2 1/2 cups, but for those with a sweet tooth I'm sure they're fine with the whole amount. I will use this one over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
this is way too much sugar for me. i made this but i used 5 peaches, 1/2 cup of sugar and i added the juice of 1 lemon. i didn't use any pectin. it made 2 8 oz jars. i did the water bath in the sink. i put the jars in a deep pyrex and filled them and the pyrex with boiling water to get them nice and hot. then i poured out the water and ladeled the peaches in the jars, put the lid on them and put them back in the pyrex of hot water. the jars seal on their own. it is devine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Awesome recipe! My 14 year old daughter helped me with this and as for it not being a recipe for beginners, not so. The recipe explained itself and what to do completely to our understanding and turned out just fine. Was glad to find a recipe where we didn't have to peel the peaches. *update: I just wanted to add that my 14 year old entered this in our county fair and won a purple (first) place ribbon. For those who don't like their preserves 'this sweet', you can try to lessen the sugar but the sugar is what helps the pectin to thickens and sets the preserves. I feel this recipe is great as written and advise not messing with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky Gunkel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
MMMMMMMmmmmmm! This is sooo good. I only used 3 cups sugar (still quite sweet). I used the low-sugar pectin just in case although I'm not sure it was necessary. The box of pectin was only 1,75oz but it set perfectly regardless. Not having to peel the peaches is a major time and mess saver. I was amazed that the peels just seem to disappear. I plan to make more for Christmas handouts. Thank you Kevin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
1st time preserve maker here! I cut this recipe in 1/2 because I didn't have enough peaches and it turned out great! Perfect consistency, amazing taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodstock, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dunwoody, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Wonderful recipe. I made three batches tonight, one with 3 cups of sugar instead of 4.5, then one batch exactly the same as the recipe and one batch with 1 tsp nutmeg, 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/4 tsp cloves, all of them tasted wonderful and just a little different from each other. I used peaches from my own trees most a bit on the smaller side so loved finding a recipe that did not require peeling. I will use this recipe every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Peach Preserves

These fragrant, fruity preserves are amazing on toast, biscuits, and pork chops.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Peach Crisp III

Granola and oats combine with fresh peaches in this 5-star dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States