Peach Preserves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
super yummy. Everyone in my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
I just made this recipe, after not having made jam for many years. I LOVED not having to peel the peaches! I tweaked the recipe a bit- using 14 peaches to yield the 6 cups cooked peaches. Cut them into half inch cubes, then crushed them with a hand potato masher while cooking. It left some nice small pieces of fruit in the preserves. Also added a tablespoon of lemon juice. And after adding the sugar, and while boiling the fruit, I added 1/2 tsp. of butter to cut any foam. The jam turned out perfect! As good as any I made 30 years ago, and so much easier! Your user reviews helped me a lot. It certainly was not too sweet, and set up beautifully. I'll use only this recipe from now on! Yielded nine jelly jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I used 12 peaches but added only 2 cups of cane sugar and it was still very sweet! I also used the cook down method so I could avoid the pectin. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Not the best I have made. They were not as peachy Or as sweet as last recipie I made. Also the color was not as bright and pretty as the other one I used last time. Disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I made three batches. 12 peaches is a little misleading b/c it depends on the size of the peaches. My husband and I cut up the peaches about 8 cups before cooking. I followed the directions to the T on the first batch. The 2nd batch I added cinnamon, awesome I must say and the 3rd batch I mixed the peaches with peppers. Thanks for the great recipe!! My husband and I just had the cinnamon and peaches batch...Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Steelville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Very good - perfect consistency. Only thing I did different was add 2T. lemon juice. Thanks for sharing this Kevin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
They look great but did not gel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
We loved the preserves that were canned earlier this year. Problem now, they are crystalizing. Tried setting the jar in hot water to "liquify" even a little. What did I do wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Very good, and very easy! I have made this often enough now that I don't pour the peaches into a bowl and measure back into the pan, I can eyeball the cooked peaches and know if I have the right amount, then add the sugar and continue the recipe. (The first few times I made it I followed the recipe exactly until I got a feel for it.) Not as firm as a jam, not as runny as a sauce - just the way a preserve should be. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arctic200

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
These taste great. I think I'd like to try adding a few spices next time (like cinnamon or cumin). I am rating this 4 stars because I found #2 confusing. Apparently, pectin only sets up a certain amount of liquid. I'm relatively new to canning preserves, so did not know this and did not understand why I had to pour it out into a bowl and measure it back. However, I pour the sugar in the pot directly and boiled everything and added the pectin. I got 11 jars and it tasted and set up just fine. Would definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ophelia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Virginia, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Peach Preserves

These fragrant, fruity preserves are amazing on toast, biscuits, and pork chops.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Peach Crisp III

Granola and oats combine with fresh peaches in this 5-star dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States