Peach Pork Picante Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I've been making this receipe for about 10 years. I have change it quite considerably. I used chicken cutlets (not a huge fan of pork) that I cut into small pieces. Two packs of salsa seasonings. Shake the chicken in bag w/ the seasonings and lightly brown chicken in skillet. I 'dump' 3 jars of salsa (Old el paso) into chicken and a whole jar of peach preserves. Let it simmer until hot - 10 min. I serve it w/ rice (or egg noodles) - I have more than enough sauce to spoon over the rice to serve as a side. It will feed about 6 people. Reheats excellently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamesport, New York, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
VERY easy meal to make; I didn't have peach preserves, so I mixed a can of peaches (with their juice) and 1/4 cup sugar in a sauce pan, brought it to a boil and let it reduce down, mashing the peaches as they cooked. Added a bit more than 4 Tablespoons of the peaches to the salsa mixture; made it all the more spicy sweet. I served it with black beans and rice. Between huge bites, my husband declared this was better than anything he's had in a restaurant. Thanks for helping to make me look so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Kantola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
This dish is fantastic! I bought a jar of Newman's own peach salsa instead of combining regular salsa with fruit preserves and it came out delicious! Served with a side of black beans....will be making this one weekly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
My family loves this meal. It is so quick and easy to prepare. I make the recipe exactly as is and serve over white rice with green beans on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandi 'Bates' Snyder

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This has quickly turned into one of my favorite dinner recipes. The easy to delicious ratio is fantastic. I like a little less salsa and a little more peach flavor, so I use 2/3 c. salsa and 5 tablespoons peach preserves. I also like to add a chopped green pepper to the mix for some added flavor and healthfulness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I just made this for my wife and two girls. I love it when I hear, "Dad, may I have some more?" This recipe is simple and wonderful tasting. It wasn't without some changes, however, some intentional and some not. The intentional change was using can peaches, adding a bit of sugar, and boiling them down, as another reviewer suggested. The unintentional change was that after I seasoned my pork cubes with the taco seasoning, I got ahead of myself and added the salsa before I browned the pork. What else could I do but cook it anyway. I kept it over a medium heat, add the peaches a few minutes before serving and it was excellent. This recipe will go very well with chicken. I have to make a dish for my wife's Christmas party this year and this one will probably be eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lifting Heavy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Shepherd, Montana, USA
Living In: Evans, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I'd give this a 10. Simple and easy. I had taken out about 1 1/2 lbs of pork cubes from the freezer so I used the full package of Taco seasoning but needed some more which I didn't have on hand. I had some rib seasoning leftover from the week-end (1 tablespoon of cumin, 1 tablespoon chili powerder, 1 tablespoon of paprika) so I added that. It was perfect - right amount of heat! Since I was using more meat I did use 2 cups of salsa and 8 tablespoons of peach preserves. I served it over spanish rice. There were only the two of us and we had to stop ourselves from eating the entire serving. My guy already claimed the leftovers for lunch. Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
This was great served with black beans and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
I had a jar of home made apricot-pineapple preserves on hand, so I used that. It was dee-licious! I make my own taco seasoning (I believe there is one on this site too), which results in less salt and no preservatives added to your recipe. Will become a regular dish here. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This is one of my favorite pork recipes! My picky eaters love it AND it's low in fat & calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDHEAD_T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Famous Pork Chops

Make these delicious baked pork chops for an impressive dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States