Peach Pork Picante Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
About 8 years ago I was reading a forum on web and someone asked for help fixing something quick and easy for dinner. The question was "what is your 'go to' recipe? I have to admit if I had not read this and been intrigued, I would never have tried it which is odd because I'm not a cautious cook! I have changed it up using many different preserves (apricot is good and so is pineapple) and any salsa will do; you can make it mild or really give it a kick. My cousin has made it many times with chicken and served to his church group! It's good with any type of pasta, noodle or rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This is very similar to a Weight Watcher recipe that I've been making for quite some time. The WW version calls for low-sugar apricot preserves and a half package of low sodium taco seasoning. It is delicious and won a Golden Spoon Award many years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I have been making this dish for a very long time. One of the first things I ever made when I was first married, 21 years ago. It was delicious then and still is now. Now my kids (18, 15, 15) love it and request it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I just made this for my wife and two girls. I love it when I hear, "Dad, may I have some more?" This recipe is simple and wonderful tasting. It wasn't without some changes, however, some intentional and some not. The intentional change was using can peaches, adding a bit of sugar, and boiling them down, as another reviewer suggested. The unintentional change was that after I seasoned my pork cubes with the taco seasoning, I got ahead of myself and added the salsa before I browned the pork. What else could I do but cook it anyway. I kept it over a medium heat, add the peaches a few minutes before serving and it was excellent. This recipe will go very well with chicken. I have to make a dish for my wife's Christmas party this year and this one will probably be eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lifting Heavy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Shepherd, Montana, USA
Living In: Evans, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Delicious!! The portioning is fairly small, so if you're big eater like us, you may want to increase the portion by 50%.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I'd give this a 10. Simple and easy. I had taken out about 1 1/2 lbs of pork cubes from the freezer so I used the full package of Taco seasoning but needed some more which I didn't have on hand. I had some rib seasoning leftover from the week-end (1 tablespoon of cumin, 1 tablespoon chili powerder, 1 tablespoon of paprika) so I added that. It was perfect - right amount of heat! Since I was using more meat I did use 2 cups of salsa and 8 tablespoons of peach preserves. I served it over spanish rice. There were only the two of us and we had to stop ourselves from eating the entire serving. My guy already claimed the leftovers for lunch. Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
This turned out really well! I did not have peach preserves, so I used fresh peaches and some sugar and mashed them while they reduced. I also made my own taco seasoning, and somehow did not have salsa so I used a can of Rotel with lime and cilantro. I served it with beans and rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
This was really good and very easy to make. I had to get the peach preserves because I normally don't keep that in the pantry, but this is a great anytime meal with items you would already have on hand. Thanks for this recipe! This will be in our regular rotation from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This was absolutely amazing. I used apricot instead of peach preserves as someone had. I also added one green pepper and one red pepper chopped as well as a large chopped onion. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Pretty easy and pretty tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wahpeton, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Sartell, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States