Peach Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
To combat possible runniness (as described in other reviews)without modifying the recipe, turn the oven OFF when the baking time is complete and let it sit in the cooling oven while continuing to boil off liquid. It won't burn, and it sets the pie very nicely. (Even with overripe, juicy peaches, it set perfectly.) This recipe is fantastic, and embarrassingly easy to make. An absolute winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1239 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
Oh wow, peachy goodness in pie form! I don't bother making my own crust..the Pillsbury un-roll kind taste great and are so easy to cut into lattice strips. I used 10 fresh peaches and 1 pint of blueberries. Love that sweet tart combo. I read the hint somewhere on this site to boil peaches for 1 minute then plunge into cold water and the skins slip right off. That tidbit should accompany any fresh peach recipe..I used to stand there and slice and peel each bleepin peach by hand! Never again! Thanks to the cook who posted that tip. I followed other reviewers' advice and used half brown and half white sugar, added cinnamon and nutmeg and 1 Tbsp cornstarch. Rather than layering I just mixed the flour mixture with the peaches, dumped it all into the pie plate and then dropped a few little pieces of butter before putting on the lattice crust. My lattice has never worked out right, but after watching the video on this site my lattice came out great! There is a secret to weaving the strips the right way. Also followed the tip from another cook to leave the pie sitting in the oven after turning it off so it would set. Worked great! All the hints from other cooks have helped me to finally perfect my peach-blueberry pie. Thank-you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
915 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This pie was AWESOME!!. My family loved it! I used fresh peaches. I took the advice of several other reviews and added 1 heaping TBLSP of corn starch, 1 tsp of cinnamon, 1/2 c of brown sugar, 1/2 white sugar. I did not have any nutmeg so I added 1/4 tsp of Allspice. I did not put the butter in the crumb mixture. I did layer the pie as instructed and then I put 5-6 small plops of butter on top of the last layer( I did not use 1/4 cup of butter as instructed.) I thought this might be a reason why some pies came out runny. I then put my pie crust on top. I used a egg wash and sprinkled the top with sugar and cinnamon. I cooked it for 15 min at 450*, then I turned the oven down to 350 and cooked the remaining time. I turned the oven off and I left it in the oven for about 1-2 hrs to cool down. It was not runny at all. It sliced very nicely and stayed together when putting it onto the plate. It was not dry just the right moisture. The bottom pie crust came out perfect. Not under cooked at all. This is a keeper and I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
714 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
First peach pie I have ever made. After reading reviews I did follow some, such as baking at 450 for 15 minutes,then 350 for 30 minutes. I added 1/4 tsp. cinnamon also. That is the only changes I made to original recipe. I had no problem with extra juice and was delicious. Will definitely make it again. Had guests the night I served it and raved about. I used my own recipe for the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
210 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
This was a FANTASTIC recipe! I made a few changes like using half brown sugar and adding lots of cinnamon and some other spices...but the only really important one is to ADD CORNSTARCH to the four mixture! I used can peaches with the juice drained and it came out so delicious...everyone ate it up on Thanksgiving and I just made another one for my husband last night! Excellent! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Confection Ink.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: The Colony, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2002
This recipe was so easy!! I'm not a peach pie fan but I am now! I accidentally added 1/4 c. more butter than it called for, but it was absolutely delicious. I also followed the advice in the previous review and let it sit in a cooling oven--set up perfectly. If you want easy, skip the lattice top and just put a regular crust on top. You won't be sorry you made this pie. Thanks Marcia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
I made this for Father's Day dessert and my husband LOVED it. I used 1/2 cup brown sugar & 1/2 cup white sugar, sprinkled the crust with cinnamon, and baked it for 15 minutes at 450 then 35 minutes at 350. It wasn't runny at all. I'll make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
YUM!! ALSO A 1ST TIME PIE BAKER-MOM WAS/IS THE SUPREME SCRATCH BAKER SO I NEVER BOTHERED TO TRY--HAD EXCESS OF FRESH PEACHES-DID AS OTHER REVIEWERS STATED USED 1/2 BROWN & 1/2 WHITE SUGAR ALSO ADDED APPROX 1 TSP CINNAMON TO SUGAR MIXTURE AND FOR FEAR OF WATERY TEXTURE ADDED 1 HEAPING TBSP CORNSTARCH TO FLOUR ---GREAT TASTE AND WILL DEFINTELY MAKE AGAIN--CURIOUS AS TO IF ANYONE ELSE HAS A SIMILAR APPLE TAKE ON THIS?? I ALSO CHEATED AND USED PILLSBURY PIE CRUSTS--AND TURNED OVEN UP TO 450 (WILL TRY JUST 425 NEXT TIME) FOR 15 MIN THEN DOWN TO 350 NEXT 30 MIN--DOES ANYONE HAVE ANY SUGGESTIONS FOR HOW TO NOT GET YOUR CRUST EDGINGS BURNT--USING ONE OF THOSE PIE CRUST GUARDS TO NO AVAIL! GREAT RECIPE WITH THE TWEAKS--THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Great recipe. Yes, it was a little runny the first time I made this pie. It was still delicious, so I tried it again with great success. I use a cookie sheet under all fruit pies (to catch the juice). I also like to cook my pies at 450 degrees for the first 15 minutes like a lot of recipes call for. I suggest cooking it until the crust is very dark and the juice is bubbling over, so it won't be runny. I also do the leave it in the oven thing whenever I don't need to use the oven again right away. If you like peach pie, you'll love this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
This was my first time making peach pie. However, after reading most of the reviews, I knew I had to make some adjustments. *Canned or Fresh? - I used Frozen...came out great! *For Tartness- I added 6 packets of equal sugar... * I skipped the flour method...instead I mixed the peach slices with sugar, butter, and half a teaspoon of corn starch... I also added a special touch: Since most prepare pie crusts come in packages of two, I used the other pastry on top of the pie! I sealed it up, make three cuts on the top...and sprinkled it with sugar! The pie was AWSOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELENA26

Displaying results 1-10 (of 442) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States