Peach Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Disclaimer: I did make some changes. The flavor was great, but mine was an incredibly soupy mess. I used nectarines instead of peaches, brown sugar instead of white cut the sugar down to 2/3 cup, and didn't have a whole crust or even a lattice for the top, since I was using a previously prepared dough and didn't have enough. I can't imagine that letting it sit in the oven would have set it up anywhere near enough. As it was, I poured easily over a cup of liquid out of the pie, and it was still a puddle. It also leaked out all over my counter. Maybe it was the substitutions? I can't see how nectarines instead of peaches or reducing the sugar would make it wetter, but I'll give it the benefit of the doubt. Again, the flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emigh
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I made this pie following the directions and was not very impressed with the flavor. It tasted OK, but it wasn't memorable. It wasn't runny because I added a heaping tablespoon of cornstarch & let it sit in the oven 2-3 hours after baking. I gave 3 stars for the lackluster flavor. I made another pie a week later, and it absolutely blew me away! (It's the pie in my photo.) Here's what I did differently: I put all the sliced peaches in a bowl with 2-3 Tbs of melted salted butter. I added 1/2 C of white and 1/2 C of brown sugar, followed by cinnamon to taste and that heaping Tbs of cornstarch. I gently mixed this up & set it aside while I made the crust. I always use "Best Ever Pie Crust" by Jean Haseloh from this site. It's a home run. (I recommend a lattice-top. It's pretty easy & it combats Runny Pie Syndrome. Just Google a video on how to make one.) I put half the dough in the fridge while I rolled out the bottom layer & put it in the pie pan. I added the filling, then made the lattice-top out of the chilled portion of the crust. (Helpful hint: I roll my crust out on a sheet of parchment paper to make it easier to transfer into the pan and to pick up the lattice strips.) I added an egg wash on top to give the crust some color since it didn't get very golden the first time around. Then I sprinkled 2 pinches of coarse-ground raw sugar on top for added texture. This adjusted recipe was SO good that my husband's friend ate 3 HUGE pieces for dessert in one sitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emigh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Delicious and very easy! I followed the directions exactly and took the suggestion of other reviewers and let the pie sit in the warm oven after baking. The pie was still a little runny, I will try a little cornstarch next time. I will peel the peaches next time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by redhen56
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Best pie ever!!! We made it with organic fresh peaches from our tree....made a few additions. Added 1/4 tsp nutmeg..1 tsp Cinnamon..1/4 tsp vanilla and 1/4 cup white sugar and the rest brown sugar to make the 1 cup sugar. Made a crisscross pie top and coated with egg white from organic egg from our hens. My friend and I made 2 pies in deep dish crusts adding more peaches than recipe calls for. To top it off ..when they were served we topped slices with Vanilla Bean Ice cream..mmm! What a life! Highly recommend this easy delicious Peach Pie recipe !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redhen56

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
This is sooo delicious, I put some cinnamon and oatmeal in the butter mixture. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
After reading other people's reviews, I added cornstarch and substituted 1/2 cup brown sugar for 1/2 cup white sugar. Even with the cornstarch, it had a lot of liquid and the bottom was mushy. However, I gave it four stars because I loved the taste. The peaches were fresh and sweet, which, in my opinion, made up for the excess liquid. I will definitely make again, but will try more modifications to combat the mushiness and excess liquid. This recipes is definitely worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae Pierson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by Jaded
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Very good! I baked tris pie 2 or 3 times already, last time come out VERY runny; I think it may dipend on the peaches: 10 weighted more than 5 pounds! I only used 8 but still were probably too many. I think it would be more accurate to give a weight more than a number of peaches... Size can vary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballmomnva
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Made this pie over the weekend and it was easy and tasted great. My family loved it and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I made this for the first time last night. I followed the directions precisely; I don't like to mess with a recipe the first time. It turned out amazing! Sweet and delicious, just like we like it. My whole family loved it. It was a bit runny, so I think next time I'll follow a previous reviewer's suggestion and cool the pie completely in the oven (if I can wait that long!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Delicious! I followed some ideas in the comments - added some cinnamon and nutmeg, half/half brown & white sugar, some cornstarch, cooked the pie at 450F for 15 minutes before reducing to 350F and continuing to cook for another 45 minutes. I also left the pie in the cooling oven for another 1.5 hours after baking, and it set up beautifully without the crust getting too done. We actually ate it warm. Best peach pie I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 447) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States