Peach Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
;-lmao !h
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dublin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
I substituted nectarines for the peaches. The fruit was very sweet, very ripe and very juicy, and I was a little concerned that I'd end up with a runny pie filling. I added 2 Tbsp of Minute Tapioca and about 1 tsp of cornstarch to the nectarines, and cut the sugar in half (personal taste preference). Ended up taking about 1 hour for the pie to bake and start to brown. Good pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
Very easy and oh so very, very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brandi
Reviewed: May 10, 2015
I always use this recipe and it turns out delicious !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Disclaimer: I did make some changes. The flavor was great, but mine was an incredibly soupy mess. I used nectarines instead of peaches, brown sugar instead of white cut the sugar down to 2/3 cup, and didn't have a whole crust or even a lattice for the top, since I was using a previously prepared dough and didn't have enough. I can't imagine that letting it sit in the oven would have set it up anywhere near enough. As it was, I poured easily over a cup of liquid out of the pie, and it was still a puddle. It also leaked out all over my counter. Maybe it was the substitutions? I can't see how nectarines instead of peaches or reducing the sugar would make it wetter, but I'll give it the benefit of the doubt. Again, the flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emigh
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I made this pie following the directions and was not very impressed with the flavor. It tasted OK, but it wasn't memorable. It wasn't runny because I added a heaping tablespoon of cornstarch & let it sit in the oven 2-3 hours after baking. I gave 3 stars for the lackluster flavor. I made another pie a week later, and it absolutely blew me away! (It's the pie in my photo.) Here's what I did differently: I put all the sliced peaches in a bowl with 2-3 Tbs of melted salted butter. I added 1/2 C of white and 1/2 C of brown sugar, followed by cinnamon to taste and that heaping Tbs of cornstarch. I gently mixed this up & set it aside while I made the crust. I always use "Best Ever Pie Crust" by Jean Haseloh from this site. It's a home run. (I recommend a lattice-top. It's pretty easy & it combats Runny Pie Syndrome. Just Google a video on how to make one.) I put half the dough in the fridge while I rolled out the bottom layer & put it in the pie pan. I added the filling, then made the lattice-top out of the chilled portion of the crust. (Helpful hint: I roll my crust out on a sheet of parchment paper to make it easier to transfer into the pan and to pick up the lattice strips.) I added an egg wash on top to give the crust some color since it didn't get very golden the first time around. Then I sprinkled 2 pinches of coarse-ground raw sugar on top for added texture. This adjusted recipe was SO good that my husband's friend ate 3 HUGE pieces for dessert in one sitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emigh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Delicious and very easy! I followed the directions exactly and took the suggestion of other reviewers and let the pie sit in the warm oven after baking. The pie was still a little runny, I will try a little cornstarch next time. I will peel the peaches next time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by redhen56
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Best pie ever!!! We made it with organic fresh peaches from our tree....made a few additions. Added 1/4 tsp nutmeg..1 tsp Cinnamon..1/4 tsp vanilla and 1/4 cup white sugar and the rest brown sugar to make the 1 cup sugar. Made a crisscross pie top and coated with egg white from organic egg from our hens. My friend and I made 2 pies in deep dish crusts adding more peaches than recipe calls for. To top it off ..when they were served we topped slices with Vanilla Bean Ice cream..mmm! What a life! Highly recommend this easy delicious Peach Pie recipe !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redhen56

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
This is sooo delicious, I put some cinnamon and oatmeal in the butter mixture. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
After reading other people's reviews, I added cornstarch and substituted 1/2 cup brown sugar for 1/2 cup white sugar. Even with the cornstarch, it had a lot of liquid and the bottom was mushy. However, I gave it four stars because I loved the taste. The peaches were fresh and sweet, which, in my opinion, made up for the excess liquid. I will definitely make again, but will try more modifications to combat the mushiness and excess liquid. This recipes is definitely worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae Pierson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 451) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States