Peach Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by dcorbin
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
This was the BEST PIE I have ever had. I added a pint of blueberries, tossed the sliced peaches and blueberries in the juice from one lemon to keep good color and followed a few suggestions from other reviewers: half brown/ half white sugar, heaping TBS of cornstarch and a few shakes of cinnamon in with the flour/sugar mix, started it at 425 for first 15 minutes (but then I had to wrap the crust edge)turned down to 350 for remainder and left it in the cooling oven to set for an hour or so after baking. I used a version of the French Pastry Pie Crust found on this site (swapped out some of the shortening for butter). It was runny but only because we couldn't resist cutting into it before it cooled! It is not runny today :) I will be using this recipe as my base peach pie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dcorbin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
After reading other people's reviews, I added cornstarch and substituted 1/2 cup brown sugar for 1/2 cup white sugar. Even with the cornstarch, it had a lot of liquid and the bottom was mushy. However, I gave it four stars because I loved the taste. The peaches were fresh and sweet, which, in my opinion, made up for the excess liquid. I will definitely make again, but will try more modifications to combat the mushiness and excess liquid. This recipes is definitely worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae Pierson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by Jaded
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Very good! I baked tris pie 2 or 3 times already, last time come out VERY runny; I think it may dipend on the peaches: 10 weighted more than 5 pounds! I only used 8 but still were probably too many. I think it would be more accurate to give a weight more than a number of peaches... Size can vary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballmomnva
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Made this pie over the weekend and it was easy and tasted great. My family loved it and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I made this for the first time last night. I followed the directions precisely; I don't like to mess with a recipe the first time. It turned out amazing! Sweet and delicious, just like we like it. My whole family loved it. It was a bit runny, so I think next time I'll follow a previous reviewer's suggestion and cool the pie completely in the oven (if I can wait that long!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Delicious! I followed some ideas in the comments - added some cinnamon and nutmeg, half/half brown & white sugar, some cornstarch, cooked the pie at 450F for 15 minutes before reducing to 350F and continuing to cook for another 45 minutes. I also left the pie in the cooling oven for another 1.5 hours after baking, and it set up beautifully without the crust getting too done. We actually ate it warm. Best peach pie I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
great flavor just made peach pie soup though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Excellent peach pie! Will surely be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tera Byard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I thought this was just ok. If I were to make this again, I would maybe use 12 peaches and 1/2 the sugar. This time around I only used 3/4 c. and thought it was still too sweet. I also added 1 t. of cinnamon, which was a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Made it just as the recipe describes. Great flavor, but a little runny. Will read other comments to see how I might be able to modify it to have it set up a bit better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 444) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States