Peach Custard Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
We tried this recpie last week. We cut the milk in half as suggested and also used evaporated milk in place of regular milk. We also added a dash of cinnamon. After the 10 minutes + 45 minutes, I found we had to raise the oven temp back up to 375 for a final 10 minutes to complete the setting of the custard, so perhaps starting out with 15 minutes at 450 would work also (I'll try this next time). In the end, the pies (double recipe) were beloved by all 12 people who consumed, even the 10yr old picky eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
After reading the reviews, I decided to try tweaking this recipe a bit. I wanted to give it a chance, but it did seem like a lot of eggs and a lot of milk, so I halved both, added a tablespoon of flour, and sprinkled in some cinnamon for good measure. It took another 10 mins in the oven for it to set, and it almost overflowed my pie pan (I used a storebought graham cracker crust--perhaps it's smaller than a 9 inch pie round), but it did end up with a nice final result. The pie was custardy and set, and wasn't too eggy. You can tell there's milk in it, but it's not overwhelming, and the peaches kind of float to the top so you have a layer of custard topped by peaches. Very nice, actually! Kind of like a peaches and cream pie, although not exactly. I'm glad I adjusted it, but this is a good base recipe--not too sweet. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Even with the addition of corn starch and the reduction of the liquids by half, this recipe did not set up well. It did set up better after it had completely cooled. And it felt like the pie was missing ingredients such as cinnamon or nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I made this pie this week and it never would set up. I think the amount of milk is way to much and it does not say anything about adding flour in the ingredient list so that was not added. What a mess this was a waste of time and the most perfect Georgia Peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wicked

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
Thank goodness I checked other comparable recipes. Two cups milk is way too much, I cut it back to between 3/4-1 Cup. I also added 2 TBSP flour. This recipe mentioned flour but did'nt give measurement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
Guess I should have read the ratings, but being in a hurry... I too, thought it was too much milk and have ended up with two pies ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2003
I took the suggestions of the other reviewers and cut the milk in half. That worked out fine in terms of the pie setting up well, but still I had to bake it an extra 15 minutes or so. The custard part then tasted very eggy and was somewhat seperated and not like a smooth custard. Overall, not the best recipe I have tried from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cicero, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brookville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2002
The flavor was good and I enjoyed it. My only complaint is that it was a bit runny. Use a little less milk and that should solve the problem. Otherwise it is a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2001
I believe that this recipie may have too much milk in it. I cooked my forever and it never set up. The milk definitely needs to be reduced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States