Peach Coffee Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
I baked this in a stoneware 9x13 and just used cooking spray, no flour. Pieces came out beautifully. My batter was also sticky but no fear, the cake also came out wonderfully moist. To spread the batter evenly in the bottom of pan, I just dipped the back of my spoon in a little flour each time I spread it. For the 2nd layer of batter on top of the peaches, I just plopped dollups of batter all over; it spread together very nicely. I used fresh peaches which were very juicy. I was worried it would be messy (too wet) but the cake batter cooked everything evenly together. I didn't modify any of the ingredients and comments I received from coworkers were 1) wasn't sweet at all, perfect flavor; 2) very moist; 3) very delicious. Definitely a KEEPER! One of which I'll be making again SOON!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
Nice and easy to make and tastes pretty good. It seems to me that it is missing something...maybe some cinnamon mixed into the batter or sprinkled on the peaches. I did have to omit the pecans because my son is allergic to nuts, but the topping tasted good anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
Excellent recipe. Cake came out light and delicious. I used non fat plain yogurt instead of sour cream. That was the only change I made. The batter spreads easily with a metal spatula. It may not seem like enough batter when you're spreading it - but it is. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
As I began to spread the first half of the batter in the pan, I got a little impatient. So, taking the lead from mominml, I put all the batter in the pan, then topped it with the peaches and streusel. It did work well, and it was so much easier than spreading the two layers of batter. The butter and sour cream contributed great flavor and made the cake deliciously moist – so moist, I fear, that if there were leftovers the next day they’d be soggy. Not wanting to take any chances, I froze individual pieces of the remaining cake. I appreciated the buttery rich flavor of the cake against the fresh, pure flavor of the peaches, with no other spices or distracting add-ins. I made the recipe with no changes – other than my concern about it getting soggy if it hung around for more than a day, it was perfect just as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I cut this in half for and 8X8 pan for breakfast this morning. Huge mistake!!! I now have another 8X8 pan in the oven baking. I was saving half of my leftover peaches to make muffins, but everyone loved this cake so much that I ended up using them for another pan. This is so moist and delicious. A few changes based on what I had: didn't use pecans in the topping, used brown sugar in the topping because that is my preference. I also didn't layer the batter. I spread the batter in the bottom of the pan, placed the peaches on top and then sprinkled with the streusel. This worked really well for me. I think that this recipe would work well with other fruits and berries as well and will definitely be trying this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsSpice
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
This is really good. I needed to make something with my surplus of peaches and this seemed to be the best candidate. I've tried it with frozen and fresh peaches and I much prefer fresh, though frozen was good too. I didn't have pecans so I omit them and I double the streusel. Most recently, I used raspberries instead of peaches and sprinkled a little sugar on them when I put them in the batter. This was very good as well. Thanx for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsSpice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
This was good, but not great. If it hadn't take so long (it takes a while to slice peaches, and then you've got to wait the 45 minutes of baking) I would have rated it higher. But the effort/time to deliciousness ratio was too low for me to make this one again. It could be sweeter, and definitely needs some more spices - ginger, or nutmeg maybe? I don't know, but it's missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHESSA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gilford, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
Perfect! I made 5 tiny loaf pans. I had a little left over, so next time I will make 6. Everyone I gave them to loved them. I used fat-free plain yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
There's enough batter; it's just a little hard to manipulate. When I make it again, I will add the nuts after I've cut in the butter. Fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I replaced sour cream w/ Kirkland plain greek yogurt & used splenda instead of sugar. I was worried because the batter was "dough like", but it turned out great. Definately making this again. It had a great flavour--will try in a bundt pan next time - still have lots of peaches to use up .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States