Peach Coffee Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
This was a fairly easy recipe to make and quite tasty. I doubled the topping as many here have suggested. The topping was very good in itself, but I feel that it overwhelmed the peach flavor. I was looking for a recipe that really showcases fresh peaches. I'm wondering if adding lemon juice and sugar to the cut peaches might help enhance the taste, especially if they're not highly flavorful? Next time I'm going to put the fresh sliced peaches on top before baking, use more peaches and perhaps use a sour cream glaze of some sort after it's out of the oven instead of the pecan topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnNM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Not what I expected. Made as written. Cake wasn't at all very flavorful and the peaches needed sugar mixed with them. Won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICKI61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wolcott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Very delicious! I cut the recipe in half because I wasn't sure the family would like it but after it came out of the oven it was clear that this is definitely a must make again type of recipe! The only thing I did differently was use canned peaches and sprinkle a little bit of cinnamon and sugar on them before spreading the rest of the batter on them. Will have to make sure the peaches are drained a whole lot better next time as it was still a little doughy/soggy in the middle. Extending the cook time a little bit might also help? Either way, a great recipe and an instant family favorite. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I replaced sour cream w/ Kirkland plain greek yogurt & used splenda instead of sugar. I was worried because the batter was "dough like", but it turned out great. Definately making this again. It had a great flavour--will try in a bundt pan next time - still have lots of peaches to use up .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HOMESCHOOLMUMMYX3
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
We've always loved this recipe. Recently, we've made it with a bundt cake pan, but had to add 15 minutes to the baking time due to the thickness. We added vanilla yogurt to the top of it and it tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOMESCHOOLMUMMYX3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarion, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
great recipe for fresh peaches from the garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
This was truly delicious ! The texture is dense but light and not overly sweet. It would be wonderful with your morning cup of coffee or tea. I did double the topping (left out the pecans) and I am glad I did. This cake rises to the top of the 9 x 13 pan and it needs the additional topping. I also added a 1/4 cup brown sugar to the topping ingredients and think it made a wonderful addition. Will make this again !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJJAMAS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Moist & delicious!! Wonderful with fresh peaches!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Made cake as directed except added 1 tbs. Cinnamon to batter and sprinkled some on top of peaches. I added 1/2 cup oatmeal to topping and used brown sugar. Used extra tbs. Butter because of the oatmeal. Add nuts after you mix in the butter. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Although I am not a big baked peach fan, I had a few to use and this recipe looked interesting. I didn't have lots of time, so I took the advice of a reviewer and spread the batter in the pan, put the peaches on the batter and then spread the streusel topping on the peaches. It baked up beautifully and tasted really good warm. I will definitely serve this at my B&B this summer. I also think with a few extra peaches it would be a very nice summer dessert - served with vanilla ice cream out of the oven. Yum - thanks for the posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States