Peach Coffee Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
This recipe has lots of potential. I made it exactly as written except I didn't have any sour cream so I used sweet cream instead. The texture of the cake is moist and delicious, but I agree with one reviewer that overall, the cake as a whole is a little bland. I think I will make it again but double the topping and sprinkle half of it over the peaches before I add the last layer of batter. Also, my cooking time was closer to 1 hour. Overall, I would recommend with a little tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieCritter

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
Thought this was fantastic! Better the next day! I only had about half the amount of peaches called for, so I halved the recipe and put it in a smaller pan- 8x8. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
We run a B&B and this recipe was a big hit with our guests all season, they even asked for extra pieces to take on their hikes. A real keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
used greek yogurt, fresh peaches. was a bit difficult to spread out but using the dollop technique it worked. Double the topping, you wont regret it! I did add a tiny bit of saigon cinnamon to the batter, as others said it was pretty bland, and I only had stoneground whole wheat flour on me and it was great out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Tasty good! The batter came out more like biscuit dough (that you'd cut rather than spread), but it came out delicious. On the advice of some of the reviewers, we sprinkled cinnamon and a touch of nutmeg over the peaches. I don't like having to cut my bites, so I coarsely chopped the peaches instead of slicing them. I didn't peel them, and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLANAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I made this coffee cake this afternoon. It was OK, nothing super spectacular. My only substitute was yogurt instead of sour cream. Like other users I doubled the topping because a butter/sugar crumble is always the best part! I will try this recipe again, maybe next time I will add some blueberries with the peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Cassandra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Delicious! This is exactly the kind of recipe I was looking for to use up some ripe peaches. I didn't change a thing...thanks for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roozy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
This was a fairly easy recipe to make and quite tasty. I doubled the topping as many here have suggested. The topping was very good in itself, but I feel that it overwhelmed the peach flavor. I was looking for a recipe that really showcases fresh peaches. I'm wondering if adding lemon juice and sugar to the cut peaches might help enhance the taste, especially if they're not highly flavorful? Next time I'm going to put the fresh sliced peaches on top before baking, use more peaches and perhaps use a sour cream glaze of some sort after it's out of the oven instead of the pecan topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnNM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Not what I expected. Made as written. Cake wasn't at all very flavorful and the peaches needed sugar mixed with them. Won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICKI61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wolcott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Very delicious! I cut the recipe in half because I wasn't sure the family would like it but after it came out of the oven it was clear that this is definitely a must make again type of recipe! The only thing I did differently was use canned peaches and sprinkle a little bit of cinnamon and sugar on them before spreading the rest of the batter on them. Will have to make sure the peaches are drained a whole lot better next time as it was still a little doughy/soggy in the middle. Extending the cook time a little bit might also help? Either way, a great recipe and an instant family favorite. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States