Peach Cobbler VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
I know a lot of people prefer a cobbler with a flaky crust, and if that is you try another recipe. I, on the other hand, love a thicker, cake-like crust. This crust reminds me of a good bread pudding, the edges have just a little crunch and the center is soft and custard like. If that is the kind of cobbler you preffer, then this is the best recipe. I did make a couple of changes. I added a 1/4 cup more flour and milk to make more crust, and I used a smaller/deeper baking dish. I had to adjust the cooking time/temp a little for best results. 350-375 for 30 minutes then bump the temp to 400 for 10 minutes. Be sure to keep an eye on it in the last 10 minutes since. Everything was set perfectly for me at the 10 minute mark, but we all know there are a great number of factors that affect cook time. Anyways, I'll be playing with this recipe some more, so if I come up with some bit thing that makes a significant change, I might be back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
This is a little different than some other cobblers I've had. It's a really good throw together, ingredients are usually on hand. I've made this twice now and I followed the recipe the first time. The second time I made this, I put a bit of cinnamon in the batter and increased the amount of cinnamon by a little that's sprinkled on top. I thought it turned out better the second time. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
My family raved about this cobbler. Of course I served it with vanilla bean ice cream while it was still warm. It was so so good. I made this cobbler with two minor changes. I prepared this with about 6 large fresh peaches sliced thinly instead of canned peaches. Also, after it had been in the oven for about 5 minutes and had started to "set", I sprinkled the top with about 2 Tbl sugar and then continued to bake it. I imagine I will prepare this cobbler many many more times because it really was very easy and very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
My favorite canned peach cobbler!! This was absolutely delicious and gone in record time. I used dark brown sugar (lightly packed), butter instead of margarine, half 'n' half instead of milk, and added a bit of cinnamon to the batter. I also used Margaret Holmes O'sage Ragged Freestone Peach halves and pieces, chopped up a bit. (which, in my opinion, makes a difference). My cobbler was neither bland nor dry. This is an absolute MUST TRY recipe!! My mouth is watering thinking about it... To make it easier, I save my version as a custom recipe if anyone is interested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I ♥ allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Nana Sidek
Reviewed: May 14, 2006
This was really delicious. I added 1 teaspoon of brown sugar to the cinnamon to sprinkle on top of the peaches and it was no regret.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana Sidek

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jurong West, West Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Melt butter in casserole dish in preheated oven, and pore batter over top to prevent sticking. Use some of peach syrup. Add pumpkin spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Climax, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
This was very good. I made the first batch in an 8x8 pan, based on other reviews, and I decided a 13x9x2 pan would have been better. The batter was too thick in the 8x8 pan and it engulfed the peaches. The second batch, in the 13x9x2 fared better. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
Used an 8x8 pan and had to cook it 15 to 20 minutes longer before it was firm in the middle. Everybody had a second helping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StacyM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
This is my first time to make "canned cobbler" - this recipe is excellent and my co-workers could not stop talking about how delicious it was. I doubled the crust batter and spices plus used 3 1/2 28 oz cans of sliced peaches - served topped with redi-whip. This is an excellent, easy and quick dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Next time I will put it in a smaller pan or double the peaches and use some of the juice from the canned peaches. Other than that it was perfect, a hit at my new year's day dinner party. Served it with a scoop of vanilla ice cream, there was NONE LEFT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

Southern Peach Cobbler

Turn fresh peaches into sweet, outrageously delicious cobbler.

How to Make Peach Cobbler

Watch Chef John make a delicious but simple peach cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States