Peach Cobbler V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
My mother used this recipe for years, with fresh peaches or blackberries. Visiting my daughter and her family, I made this and my son-in-law loved it so much, I had to make two more that same week! When I returned home, I made it for my husband -- and it was a flop. The dough never rose and was a gummy mess. When I looked at the bottom of my can of baking powder, I saw that the expiration date was June 1996 -- 11 years ago!! Moral of this story: Make sure your baking powder is fresh. Or, better yet, use self-rising flour and omit the baking powder! But this is one of the easiest and best desserts around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Yummy!! Love the chewy, crunchy crust. Use 3 c fresh peaches w/1/2 c sugar. Sprinkle cinnamon on top b4 baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
This was really good even though I cut the amount of butter in half and added too many peaches (I used appx. 6 cups). Next time, I'm going to use less peaches and add some cinnamon like suggested. So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
I used 3 cups of fresh peaches (with 1/4 cup sugar) and it was still way too cake-like for my taste. The 2nd time I made it I used 2 cups peaches and 2 cups blueberries and it was a much better "cobbler" consistency. also added cinnamon and ginger for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
I enjoyed this recipe but I tweaked it a little to suit my taste. My husband enjoyed it a lot with the additions. I split the sugar in two and did 1/2 cup of white sugar, 1/2 cup of brown sugar. Added a 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon, 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg, 1/2 teaspoon of ginger and 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract (I'll probably add a little more next time). I also added an extra 1/2 can of peaches since this breading rises a lot. Overall it turned out great with this as a basis to start from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
I made this and it turned out delicious. I used self-rising flour and regular sliced peaches. It was easy, inexpensive, and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
I have used this recipe for years after deiscovering a variation in a BBQ cookbok. To make it my own I added a teaspoon of ground ginger and it was wonderfull. I have also made this with apples and fresh berries and it is always good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Keith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Very good, easy to do peach cobbler recipe. I used a 28 ounce can of peaches in pear juice with no sugar added. Found it to be just the right combo of batter and peaches, and it wasn't too sweet either. The only thing I didn't like was the butter, I used margarine but found it too salty around the edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I loved how easy this was. Based on some reviews, I did make some changes. I used 1 1/2 cups flour, 2 teaspoons baking powder, 2 teaspoons cinnamon, 1/2 teaspoon each of salt and nutmeg, and I used half white sugar and half brown sugar (for a total of 1 c. sugar, which was plenty sweet for us). I also used 30 oz. canned peaches, and felt like it still needed more, maybe another 15 oz. can, as there was more "cake" than peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Photo by Jen
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
Good recipe. I made this today and both my husband and I enjoyed it. It's a nice Fall treat. Based on the previous suggestions, I made the following changes to the recipe: I added 1 tsp of cinnamon, about 1 Tbls brown sugar, 1 1/2 cups flour, and I used canned peaches rather than pie filling. I actually used one 29oz can AND one 15oz can of peaches and added all of the juice from the 15 oz can. Based on how it turned out, the only change I would make is to add MORE peaches. I had already used 23 additional oz of peaches, but it still seemed like there was more dough than peaches. Next time, I plan on using 2 29oz cans of peaches. One additional note: It makes more than 8 servings. More like 12. Four stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

Southern Peach Cobbler

Turn fresh peaches into sweet, outrageously delicious cobbler.

How to Make Peach Cobbler

Watch Chef John make a delicious but simple peach cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States