Peach Cobbler V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I had never made a peach cobbler before, so I tried this recipe after looking at many. This is a good recipe, however, it is much better with the suggestions of SARAMJT. After using her suggestions, the cobbler came out with a beautiful golden brown crust! See my pic! This is a good recipe, but a GREAT recipe when combined with those suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SERENITYSMOM2003

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
The consistency was pretty good and what I was hoping for, but overall it was just too sweet. The sweetness of the batter overpowered the peach flavor (I used four cups of fresh peaches). I would maybe reduce the sugar to 1/2 cup and add 1/4 tsp salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
excellent just as is. Tastes like my momma made it. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
So easy. So simple. So good. I did as others suggested and added a wee bit more flour. I also added 1 cup off additional fruit (frozen blackberries) with an extra TB of sugar. Because we like spices I added 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/8 tsp mace (or use 1/4 tsp nutmeg), 1/4 tsp allspice, 1/4 tsp cloves, and 1/4 tsp cardamom (we love cardamom here). It was SO yummy. My husband loved the peach and blackberry combo with the spices (it was lightly spicy - complimented rather than overwhelmed). Awesome served with some vanilla ice cream too! (inexpensive to make and can go as simple as recipe suggests or add spices or an additional cup of frozen berry to fancy it up- versatile!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
This recipe is easy and perfect! It's the best recipe I've tried on here so far! I followed the directions exactly and it was perfect. We served it warm with vanilla icecream. INCREDIBLE! ** I recommend cooking this in 8 X 8. I did this the first time and it turned out much better than using a 9 X 13.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I've made this recipe two times. The first time was the recipe to the tee, with adding just a few "secret" ingredients (a capful of vanilla extract, a few grates of fresh nutmeg in both the "dough" and fruit, and just a hint of cinnamon). The second time I cut it in half, and used apple pie filling, along with a lot of cinnamon to give it a bit of an "apple pie" appeal. Both were a huge hit. Even with people who don't like cobbler or anything like it, liked it. I still find the dough a little to runny for my tastes, which is why I gave it 4 stars, but my husband told me not to change anything about that part of it. It reminds him of his Tu-Ma's. Great Recipe, easy to fix, seeing as this was my first time making anything like it, it wasn't daunting. EDIT: 1-9-09 I have since scaled this down to single servings using the calculator here. I used the individual throw-away metal cups you can get down the baking isle, and followed the recipe as close as possible, taking into account with the melted butter that it wouldn't take as long. They still needed to cook for nearly an hour (I made 3 individual ones) and they were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjam1303

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
this was a good recipe but i doubled the peaches and it was very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Delicious! I made the changes in the flour, split the sugar (1/2 brown 1/2 white) and added cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger to the dough mix. We had this for our Christmas party this year and the family absolutely loved it. I can't wait to try it with other fillings. (Oh, I used no salt butter.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Delicious! Very easy to do, I used canned peaches in syrup instead of pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
This was more like a peach cake, not a cobbler. It was good, but not what I expected it to look like in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: Dublin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

Southern Peach Cobbler

Turn fresh peaches into sweet, outrageously delicious cobbler.

How to Make Peach Cobbler

Watch Chef John make a delicious but simple peach cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States