Peach Cobbler IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Fantastic, outstanding, exceptional! This is now one of my most favorite recipes from this site. I can't say enough about it. I almost missed out 'cause everyone inhaled this cobbler. It was there one minute, almost gone the next. I used dark brown sugar, butter instead of margarine, and Margaret Holmes O'sage Peaches, lightly chopped with some of the juices (these are the best canned peaches you'll EVER eat), also added a pinch of cinnamon to the batter and OH MY GOODNESS was it good!! Served along side Natural Vanilla Bean ice cream...I could eat this everyday!! Mine was neither dry nor bland. I'd put money that it's the type of peaches that are being used by other reviewers. If you can, use the peaches I mentioned and surely you can't go wrong. I think Del Monte cans a freestone peach, and they're good, but not as good as the Margaret Holmes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I ♥ allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I did not like the way it cooks, the crust gets dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
This was okay but the peaches were bland and needed some cinnamon and vanilla or something to give it some boost. I spooned the peaches over the batter, but this came out really dry so maybe I was supposed to use the juice from the can too? It was more like peach cake than what I would call cobbler. I was expecting some syrupy juice beneath the crust. Not my style, but not bad for a quick easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
It is still not exactly what I'm searching for, but it will do in a pinch. I used 29oz peaches with 1/2 thw juice. Also added a little vanilla and cinnammon, and used evaporated milk. I'll give it 4 stars because family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIVAMOMMIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I was not impressed at all with this dish. It was edible, but that was about all. I'm accustomed to a more "southern style" that actually had real dough rather than that weird flour/sugar mixture. I wont make this again. Too much butter did not help it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
very easy to make. Took this to a friends house and was a big hit. My Wife kept saying yummy with every bite. Served with french vanilla ice cream. OMG it was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This is a really good recipe. i used thawed frozen peaches added 1 tsp of vanilla and 1/4 tsp of cinnamon & nutmeg. and cooked it for i hour it was perfect! i will be using this recipe for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Really good. I used regular flour + 1 tbsp of baking powder and baked it for the full hour. Added 1tsp of vanilla. Could stand to bake another few minutes, because it's still a bit soupy, but really, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chamomille

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
This is REAL southern style peach cobbler, not upsidedown peach pie. I used fresh peaches from a local orchard(9-12, depends on how large) and added 3 tbsp sugar. If the peaches are ripe, you can just lightly press them when you slice them to make the extra liquid. I also added 1/2 tsp vanilla and baked it in a hand potted casserole. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Easy and delicious. I used frozen peaches and it turne out wonderfully
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

Southern Peach Cobbler

Turn fresh peaches into sweet, outrageously delicious cobbler.

How to Make Peach Cobbler

Watch Chef John make a delicious but simple peach cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States