Peach Cobbler II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
I first made this cobbler back in July 2003. I've made it so many times since then, and on every July 4th, that I don't even have to look at the recipe anymore. The only change I've ever made is to reduce the amount of water to 1 cup, and I ALWAYS use a 9x13 in pan. Works perfectly everytime, and I take home an empty pan EVERY (no exagerations!) time the past 5 years. I use 6-9 fresh peaches, and have used blueberries too. Today, I tried adding a dash of freshly grated nutmeg to the peaches. Still an excellent recipe, and the only one I go to for a cobbler!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
237 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
I haven't made a cobbler in ages and was hesitant to try this recipe because of conflicting reviews, but I made some modifications and it was AWESOME! I used 8 fresh peaches, 1 cup sugar and 2 tsp cinnamon in the fruit, 3/4 cup sugar and one tsp vanilla in the batter, and 1 cup hot water with 4 Tbsp butter. Baked in a 12 x 9 pan for one hour and let rest for 30 minutes to let the juices gel up. I would give 5 stars, except for the modifications needed. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
219 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa Griscom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
A wonderful-tasting peach cobbler recipe that is so easy to make! At other reviewers recommendations I used 6 fresh peaches instead of 3, 1 cup of sugar instead of 1 1/2 cups, and only 1 cup of boiling water instead of 2 cups. The cobbler came out perfect...moist and full of fruit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
I tried this recipe for the first time with much trepidation. It appeared I would need an engineering degree to pull it off. I mean really, pouring boiling water over perfectly good ingredients? However I tried it anyway, halfway through I tasted the batter - it was horribly salty. My husband said bake it anyway maybe it would get better in the oven. So I proceeded per instructions. It smelled wonderful! We were all salivating over it as I pulled it out of the oven perfectly golden. I was so proud of myself. We all waited in anticipation of that first bite... SALTY!! My husband took a wopping serving determined to eat it anyway... he ate it like he had a sore tooth grimacing with every bite. Something was seriously wrong! So I went in search of the cause and THERE on the counter I discovered a completely emty salt canister, my ever helpful two year old had decided to refill the sugar container. So my cobbler had about two cups of salt. The flies refused to land on it. *sigh* I did attempt this recipe at a later date and it was fabulous. Helpful tip: ALWAYS check the sugar before baking. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHEY638

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shrewsbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
Wow - this just came out of the oven and I had four pieces - it's that good! I followed reviewers' advice and cut the sugar in the peaches to 1 cup and the water to 1 cup. I also added vanilla to the water. I used six peaches. Yum! Update: I love cobblers really peachy so next time I tried this with eight peaches. It didn't work - way too much liquid and it didn't bake properly. So I see that six is the way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
YUMMY!!! I've never made cobbler before, but this was easy and delicious! I took into consideration some of the helpful suggestions made in other reviews, and was quite pleased! I DOUBLED the fruit, and used HALF the sugar AND half the water. It was the perfect combination of fruit and dough! A definate keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2003
I made this cobbler this morning and my husband and I have already eaten at least a third of it! The cobbler is delicious. I did follow the recommendations of so many others: increasing peaches to 6 and reducing sugar to 1 cup (for peaches). I also added 1 tsp. vanilla to batter and substituted unsalted butter for the shortening. I, too, had to bake longer...almost 1 1/4 hours...but I'm sure that the additional peaches has something to do with the longer cooking time. This is a real keeper! Thanks Jannette for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2003
Wow! This recipe is awesome! I,too used only 1 cup of sugar in peach mixture and it was perfectly sweet. I also only used 1 cup of boiling water and the cobbler was plenty juicy. I had to bake mine much longer than 45 minutes, probably more like 1 hour and ten minutes to get it to set and brown on top. That could have been my oven, but I normally don't have problems with bake times. My toddler liked it and that's unusual. I will definitely make again. I could eat the whole thing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
very good...i made this twice...the first time with canned peaches, they turned out mushy and soggy, then when made with fresh peaches it was great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
This cobbler is the best I have ever made! I get requests for it all the time now. I also used 5 large peaches, only 1 cup of sugar, and only 1 cup of boiling water and it turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 350) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

How to Make Peach Cobbler

Watch Chef John make a delicious but simple peach cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States