Peach Cobbler II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
This was a nice and easy recipe for a first time cobbler maker and I love to see families hand down cherished recipes. However, there is a clear dependency on sugar in the United States and this recipe is no acception. I used unsweetened frozen peaches as good fresh ones are not always available. I only used 3/4 cup sugar with cinnamon and heated them(only enough to defrost them) in a covered sauce pan together with 3 TBS water. Again in the second step, I used 3/4 cup sugar and creamed with real butter, not the mystery shortening used which is actually worse for our bodies to consume as it's an unnatural food product(ask any reputable nutritionist). Since the frozen peaches produce more liquid after being defrosted, I really only added less than a cup of water with the 3TBS butter in the last step. Next time I will use even less sugar than this as it was extremely sweet. Please do not ruin this recipe with canned peaches as they have mostly lost their nutrition in the canning process(properly research it), and added syrup is only inching yourself closer to poor health. If your deserts have to be this sweet to enjoy them, consider slowly cutting back each time you make it and you'll find it tastes great without so much of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Oh my goodness! This is a great recipe. Will definitely make again. In fact, I'm having it cold for breakfast at this very moment. Like some others, I only added half the amount of water. Also, my shortening was rancid so I just used butter its place. It's really cool how the crust rises up above the peaches as it cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aCookInLaQuintaCA
Living In: La Quinta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I used 6 small peaches 1 cup of sugar in the base. Ididn't have shortening so I used margarine. As suggested by others I used 1 cup boiling water. I like my peach cobbler a bit more soupy. Next time I'll use more water. I'll also use a slightly bigger pan. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I have a very good easy peach cobbler recipe but wanted to try this one because addding the boiling water was interesting. I had 3 small cans of sliced peaches in heavy syrup, so that is what I used. I drained the peaches reserving enought to use in place of the water. So I used 1 cup of boiling heavy syrup in place of 2 cups of boiling water. I added the ground cinnamon to the syrup. I cut the sugar to one cup for the peaches but still used 1 cup for the flour/sugar mixture. I could have cut the sugar even further because it was Very sweet. I cooked it a 9 X 13 pan for at least 1 hour 15 minuted. It was pretty darn dark but not burned. It was really good but a little too sweet. The bottom of the cobbler was gooey, more like a peach pie filling and the bread part of the cobbler was nice and tender with a crunchy top. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Key, Florida, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This was my first attempt ever at a cobbler, and I have to say, it came out great. I did alter some per other reviewers suggestions. I cut the sugar in half for the filling and the dough. I used canned peaches, and they came out a little too soft, but there werent any good peaches available at the market. I used two 29 ounce cans, and one 14 ounce can. Alot of peaches. I strained them and then put the sugar cinnamon coating on after placing them in a bowl. By the time the dough was ready, I noticed quite a lot of liquid had accumulated from the peaches even after being strained, so I did not add any additional liquid to the top. This came out AMAZING!! This is the only cobbler recipe I would use from now on. I did use a 9x13 pan inplace of the 10x10. Perfect amount of moisture and the dough was absolutely perfect. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Tried this yesterday and it was a hit! Unfortunately, I used canned peaches. Since they're sweeter than the fresh ones, I'd recommend less 1/2 cup of sugar to mix with them (recipe for 6 servings)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
YUM!! I will dial back on the sugar for certain... but very good, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Heikkinen Kelley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Johns, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
This was really good! Great way to use up our fresh & local peaches. Was sort of like a pineapple upside-down cake. Let the peaches sit in the sugar and a wonderful syrup resulted, which I added to the boiling water for the final step. Will make again, maybe with apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
i USED MORE PEACHES THEN CALLED FOR (I LIKE IT PEACHY!) AND LESS SUGAR......THE DOUGH IS THE BEST TEXTURE AND FLAVOR! YAY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by placidstars

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
First of all, do not use a springform pan for this recipe. It was a rookie mistake. As soon as I poured the boiling water over my peaches, it drained out the bottom of my pan and all over the counter! I tried to salvage my ingredients by re-spicing the peaches and scooping the batter into a regular pan, but I guess I wasn't successful. We felt like it was a lot of dough, and not many peaches, even though I used more than the recipe called for. In addition, the peaches got dried out from being on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillybeens

Displaying results 81-90 (of 350) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

How to Make Peach Cobbler

Watch Chef John make a delicious but simple peach cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States