Peach Cobbler II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This is GOOD!! I've made it many times. I use frozen sliced peaches or nectarines that I picked over the summer. The fruit I used was VERY ripe and sweet when picked/frozen therefore I add very little, maybe 1 TBLS sugar to the fruit. I usually use a couple extra peaches and a bit more cinnamon. I usually use 1.5 cups boiling water because when the peaches thaw there is quite a bit of syrup. We LOVE this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I was craving a good peach cobbler when i fell upon this!! And i was delighted when it came out so perfectly moist!! I too went with the other suggestions and used 4 peaches (Its what i had but i will deff use 6 next time) 1 cup of sugar instead of 1 1/2 and I also used 1 cup of water and 4tbs of butter. I also added 1 tsp of vanilla and a pinch of nutmeg!! Will be saving this recipe and passing it on!! I also served mine warm with Vanilla Ice Cream yummmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by virgie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Oh WOW!! This is it. The cobbler I have been looking for. I made it twice for Thanksgiving because I forgot to add the water to the first one, which was cherry. It turned out to be just like peach cobbler IV found on this site. It looked beautiful and I couldn't wait to try it until I remembered I forgot to add the water. Now adding all of this water just didn't seem right. But, I tried it anyway, this time using peaches. This was soooo good. Made a sauce. Next time I will substitute butter for the shortening add a little more sugar. I always flavor my pie filling with cinnamon, nutmeg, and mace. Delicious. P.S. After reading some of thiese reviews, perhaps I forgot the sugar, that's why it wasn't sweet enough for me. I used canned peach pie filling, which is already sweetened. However, I always add sugar to canned pie filling. For some reason I forgot this time. It was Thanksgiving eve. Very busy. Can't wait to try again. Follow-up: Made this last night for my husband's job. I used 3 cans of peaches. I doubled the dough recipe. After I made my main cobbler, which was about 1 and 1/2 times larger than the original recipe, I had enough leftover to make a small cobbler for us. I don't like a lot of cakie dough so I used less dough and a lot of filling. I used butter in the dough before. Not necessary. Did not change the tast a lot. I will add cinnamon and nutmeg to the dough next time, see how that goes. Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Super tasty. I made a half recipe & cooked it in a glass loaf pan. I followed other reviewer's suggestions & used less sugar with the peaches - only 1/4 cup for the half recipe. I used some sliced peaches I froze a couple of weeks ago... I'm not sure how many there were. Probably 2 or 3. Also used half the water it calls for in the last step. Will make again & again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
This was just so sugary. I personally love sugar, I have a huge sweet tooth. I found that, although it was really tasty, I couldn't really taste the peaches which made me really sad. I think next time I'll either add more peaches, reduce the sugar, or both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
DELICIOUS! Followed exact recipe... Easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lolamares

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This cobbler was not edible. I believe the water drowned the peaches and made the bottom liquidy.I would not risk making this cobbler again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Yummy! The only thing I changed was reducing the sugar in the filling to 3/4 cups. Next time, I might reduce the sugar in the batter as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This is a great recipe. The crust is a soft, fluffy crust rather than a biscut type of crust. I've used all different kinds of fruit and berries and it turns out good each time. It's very easy as well and makes a big batch. Great for bigger families or gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
A great recipe. I followed the suggestions of other reviewers and used half the sugar with the peaches and only 1 cup of water with the butter. Turned out great, although, I did cook it for closer to 80 minutes but that could just be my oven. I used 3 very large peaches (probably about 4-5 cups sliced) and that was just about right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 31-40 (of 350) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

How to Make Peach Cobbler

Watch Chef John make a delicious but simple peach cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States