Peach Cobbler II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Holy Smokes...this recipe Terrified me! Pouring boiling water over perfectly beautiful peaches & batter was quite an experience - if not for rave member reviews, I Never would've attempted it. Everyone was totally correct, tho...it was aMazing! My changes [because, of course, there were many!] to lower the sugar/fat considerably were; 6 peaches instead of 3 [which upped the flavor quotient!], 2/3 cup sugar is all that was needed to perk up the peaches along with 2 teaspoons of cinnamon. For the batter, half stick of unsalted butter & 1/4 cup ground flaxseed was just enough fat & really lightened it up with 2/3 cup of sugar giving it just the right touch of sweetness. I added the peach juice to the boiling water to make 1 cup along with 1 teaspoon of vanilla & just 2 Tablespoons of butter, then held my breath & poured!!! Baked for an hour, left to gel for another half hour, the smell is Divine - this cobbler is truly to Die For!! With homemade whipped cream or frozen vanilla yogurt on top...O.M.G.!!! Kudos to Jan for the original – hope you enjoy the modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosemary Carollo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boonville, New York, USA
Living In: Rome, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This receipe was great. The husband asked for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Success! I made the same modifications others suggested. (Doubled the peaches, used only 1 cup of sugar in them, and reserved the sweet liquid from the peaches to use over the top of everything instead of boiling water.) I am not really into cobbler, but my husband seems to love it, so I'm sure I'll be making it again for him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I only used one cup of water because I was kind of nervous about the boiling water pouring thing. Maybe two cups makes it cook faster? After 45 minutes I took it out and although the peaches were perfectly cooked the batter ended up being a little undercooked. It was very tasty and easy though, great when you want to use fresh peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunnysue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Great recipe. I even flubbed it up and put it into too small of a pan and ended up pouring the whole thing into a bigger pan before baking and it still turned out great and pretty. One bummer...it didn't taste any different from when I have used canned peaches. That's a lot of extra work using fresh peaches when you can't tell the difference in the results. This is not a complaint about this particular recipe, just a general note about peaches. Next time I will save myself the trouble and just use canned peaches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
This is seriously the best peach cobbler I've ever had. I followed other reviewers and cut down to 1 cup of sugar and 2 tsp of cinnamon on peaches. Also I added some vanilla to the batter and cut the water down to 1 cup that goes with the butter. I used very ripe peaches from a farmers market, was sooo delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
It was mushy, runny, and much too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This cobbler tasted allright. It was just strange to me to have the dough on the bottom and the peaches on top. The dough ended up being very wet and mushy. I think I'll stick to cobblers with the cake on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
5 stars with feedback from others such as use 1/2 the amount of sugar, and use more peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
This was good as written, but I did not read the other reviews before making. I really wanted more peach flavor and it was very wet. So next time I will follow the other reviewers suggestions and I think it will come out perfect. I also want to try it with blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 350) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

How to Make Peach Cobbler

Watch Chef John make a delicious but simple peach cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States