Peach Cobbler Dump Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I prefer a cobbler over cake but DH and friends raved about this recipe served with vanilla ice cream. I used 2 x 29oz cans of peaches in heavy syrup, assembled the ingredients in the casserole dish the night before, I put some of the cake mix on the bottom of the dish as recommended, mixed in instant oatmeal to the top cake mix layer. I assembled the ingredients the night before and baked it 4 hours prior to serving. I'd like to try this with other fruits as recommended by other reviewers. Next time, I will use light syrup fruits next time or skip the sugars if I use heavy syrup; put >1/3 of the cake mix in the bottom; mix in quick cook oats and/or chopped nuts with the top layer for more crunch. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Yum! This was FANTASTIC. Not only was this SUPER easy to prepare, it was also well-received by my dinner guests. Because I had little time or energy to prepare an elaborate dessert (I focused all of my effort on Easter dinner), this was a perfect choice for me. I literally prepped this in under 5 minutes. Other than subbing peaches in light syrup (trying to appease a diabetic), draining one can of them (I feared a soggy outcome otherwise) and mixing my cinnamon and peaches together, I made no changes. As if this isn't great as is, my only suggestion for next time is to either a) double the amount of peaches called for or b) bake everything in a smaller (i.e. 8 x 8 in.) dish instead. I like a thick cobbler. There was just enough of it to form a very thin layer in my 9 x 13 in. stoneware pan. :( Served wtih Ben & Jerry's cinnamon roll ice cream, this was the BOMB! Thanks SO much for sharing, Jessica!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Not bad for a very simple, easy recipe. Bf was a bit put off the first time I served it bc some of the topping was a bit hard, but if you heat it that deals with it. He's still a bit baffled, but it's a quick, easy cobbler that used up both peaches and a cake mix, so I thought it worked well. I used cherry chip cake mix and it worked. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
PRETTY GOOD! I used peaches in light syrup. I am excited to try different fruits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Maine, USA
Living In: Willmar, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Loved it!! So simple and quick to prepare. I did add nutmeg, cinnamon, and brown sugar to jazz it up some..definitely a hit in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Absolutely loved it- took to a ladies function and everyone wanted to recipe. I did use 2 29 oz cans of peaches for a 9x13 pan, draining all the juice from one can and a little from the second can as it seemed like alot, and it turned out perfect. I find that melting the butter and stiring the cake mix into it works fabulous as all the batter has butter. Turns out beautiful. Cant wait to make it agian!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This is not a cake...it is like a crumble or cobbler. This is super easy and pretty cheap. I DO recommend that you take the time to slice the butter very thinly instead of melting it like some of the reviews suggest. When you melt the butter, it tends to pool in the middle or sides as it cooks, leaving some areas very dry and others soggy. You can try this same recipe using blueberries, cherry pie filling or a combo of berries. This recipe is a HUGE hit in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Excellent, delicious, and easy cake. I made this for my husband's birthday and got rave reviews. I doubled it and used one large can of homemade peaches and one can of store bought canned peaches. I added the syrup from about 1/2 of the homemade bottled peaches. I am also allergic to milk, so I substituted smart balance light original for the butter. I cut it into the cake mix before adding it on top. Serve hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Absolutely yummy! A great change from plain old cherry dump[ cake. :D Will make and remake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This is by far the quickest easiest and yummiest recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 530) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

Southern Peach Cobbler

Turn fresh peaches into sweet, outrageously delicious cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States