Peach Cobbler Dump Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
This was my first dump cake experience. I grated the butter on top and used lite canned peaches, but otherwise followed instructions as written. Top was unexpectedly crispy! My family seemed to like it. People had seconds. Personally I found it very sweet, even with the lite peaches and probably won't go out of my way to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
This is a favorite in our house. I think a friend gave it to me years ago. The end product is dependent entirely on the quality of your peaches and the flavor of cake mix you use. I use a golden French vanilla mix, lots of cinnamon and two cans of good quality (in heavy syrup) peaches. I also grate the butter over the top. This distributes it very evenly. Then another sprinkle of cinnamon. Everyone raves about it! Great for family bbq's and larger gatherings where simplicity and an end product that is nearly guaranteed to be good are essential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Everyone like this dessert, and, it was easy to put together. I used earlier comments, and put brown sugar on top of cake mix, so husband thought it was just a bit too sweet. Will definitely make again, without the brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Just made this tonight and it is fantastic!!! I did follow some of the suggestions made in the reviews: *I used 3 regs sized cans of Delmonte Freestone Peaches - two with the juice and one drained. *Sprinkled cinnamon over the peaches and on top of the cake mix *Sprinkled brown sugar on top of the cake mix *Sliced the butter and arranged evenly over the top of the cake mix *Baked for an additional 10 minutes because it looked a bit runny after the 45 minutes. I can't wait to try this again with other fruit and cake mixes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
My family loves peach and apple cobbler....I love this recipe because it is quick and easy! I tweak it just slightly though. I usually use 2 cans of apple pie filling instead of peaches. I sprinkle cinnamon on top of the apples and again on top of the cake mix. I always melt the butter and drizzle on top especially around edges....and last but not least I sprinkle a cup of dark brown sugar across the top for a crispier topping. It always turns out awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I change it a little bit. I used one can of the peach juice, 2 eggs and mix it together. The rest I do.. Great and I NEVER have left overs. Thank you for the great basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pacific, Missouri, USA
Living In: Union, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Great recipe. Loved the ease of preparation and inexpensive items found in most kitchen pantry's. Made the recipe exactly as written and it was wonderful, but I have since customized it to my family's preference. Increased the peaches to 2.5 cans and drained the syrup from the 3rd can only (we like more peaches), used peaches in LIGHT syrup and I haven't been able to tell the difference. Sprinkled cinnamon over peaches before adding the cake mix and then finished the recipe with a 1/3 cup dark brown sugar on top of the cake mix, followed by the the cinnamon and finally chilled a cube of butter and grated it over the top (handheld cheese grater works wonders for this). This spreads the butter more evenly and allows it to achieve a crystalized finish. Rave reviews every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
very fast and easy recipe! Tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
My daughter made this and I thought it was good. I made just a couple of small changes. First I sprinkled some cinnamon right over the peaches before adding the cake mix. Next, instead of a yellow mix, I used a butter pecan mix - yum. I also thought spice cake would work well too. Anything this easy, quick and tasty is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allen Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
O.M.G this is unbelieveable great taste...I did freeze and grate the butter to place evenly on top...Hope I don't eat the whole thing...Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 527) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

Southern Peach Cobbler

Turn fresh peaches into sweet, outrageously delicious cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States