Peach Cobbler Dump Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I have made this recipe many times and it's terrific! As many others have said, the butter needs to be distributed evenly over the top or there will be dry spots. I add about 1/4 cup extra butter to make sure it's all covered. NOTE: I do not drain 1/2 the syrup as others have suggested. I prepare it the night before and let all the ingredients meld in the fridge overnight, then bake the next day. I like the results better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
This is delicious! I have to tweek it though because I live in Brazil and our peaches and cakes are different size packages! haha I just did rough amounts and it worked... but I can tell that if the porportions were perfect... it'd be even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieRando

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
YUMMO! I make different variations of "dump cake" and it's always gooooood. I throw a stick of butter in the freezer a few minutes before I plan to use it. I cut the stick in half length wise then cut the halves in half- I then cut these up into thin pats. I think next time I will drain a bit of the syrup from the 2nd can as this was a bit to liquidy for me, thought the syrup would thicken up- but no... Easy Peasy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
What a great fall dessert! I used Butter Pecan cake mix, added a lot of cinnamon and some ginger to the peaches. I also melted the butter, and used 1/2 stick more than was called for. It's great with fresh whipped cream!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This recipe is the bomb!!!! My church fed a women/children homeless shelter yesterday and I had promised spaghetti and peach cobbler. I came across this recipe. It looked easy and used less ingredients. I drained the juice, cut the peaches into small pieces. I am a Watkins rep, so I used our Apple Bake spice. I poured some juice in pan with peaches and a little over the cake mix. On top of cake mix I grated frozed butter (better coverage) and sprinkled a little white sugar. Feeding so many (50), I used foil lasagna pans I got from the Dollar Store. I will be using this recipe for an afternoon snack for my church and whenever I get a sweet tooth. Thanks again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This is absolutely delicious! It's going to be dangerous having something this easy and this delicious in my recipe arsenal!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Easy and tasty!! This is a very good but I agree, it is a sweet dessert and may not be for everyone. I leave the cinnamon out and I add another tablespoon of cut up butter ( and a few shakes of salt on top as I like sweet and salty together). My oven may be off because it took closer to an hour for my top to brown. This is one of my go to quick desserts! Thanks =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
I was very skeptical, but this turned out delicious! I used peaches canned in their own juice and also sprinkled a little bit of brown sugar on the top before baking. I topped with real whipped cream (not the stuff in the tub) before serving. I will definitely make again .... and again......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
OUTSTANDING!!!! Best dessert recipe I've made in a while and very easy to make. I used fresh peaches in place of the canned and added pecans to the topping. I also followed the advice of others and melted my butter and poured on top of the cake mix. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
I made this yesterday as a way to use up some fresh peaches. I read a lot of reviews and here is what I did. -used 9 very large peaches, sliced thin -sprinkled with a little brown sugar and cinnamon -sprinkled with a buttered pecan cake mix -did the freezer/grater trick with the butter -sprinkled with more cinnamon I have to say this turned out perfect!! Delicious and hit the spot. Can't wait to try it with different fruit/cake mix combinations. I also gave the recipe to a friend and she made it today also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garner, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 531) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

Southern Peach Cobbler

Turn fresh peaches into sweet, outrageously delicious cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States