Peach Cobbler Dump Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Holy jeez. I read most of the reviews and I honestly can't understand how y'all were able to stomach this. The most helpful critical review is right - it tastes like peachy baking soda. I followed the recipe and then added a bit of brown sugar on top as I saw in another review. It smelled a-ma-zing! It even looked awesome. The consistency is exactly what I was hoping for - crusty top, cakey middle, gooey bottom. But it tasted so, so, so salty (baking soda) that no amount of ice cream, whipped cream, or frosting could render this cake palatable. Ugh, this was horrible. I wouldn't even recommend it to my enemies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
If you want to cut down on the sweetness and/or cut down on the carbs, there is an easy fix. My husband's family calls this Fruit Cocktail Cake. So we use 2 cans of fruit cocktail, 1 of peaches and 1 of pears, cut into pieces. (14 oz cans, not the big one) I drain the juice out of most of the cans and just make sure the fruit is moist. Then use sugar free cake mix on top. Like everyone says, good easy recipe. Wonderful taste and nobody ever thinks its dry cake mix! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
So delicious and easy! Next time I'll use 3-4 cans of peaches instead of 2. I sliced the butter into thin pads and covered the top with them, came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
This is heavenly!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Turned out amazing. Will make it again, and again. I used fresh peaches left over from canning. Ladled in some left over simple syrup, spread the dry cake mix evenly over the top, thinly cut and placed butter over nearly every inch. I only had to use a wee bit more butter than called for to cover it well. I left out the cinnamon because I didn't have any. This was not a problem. I was unsure about how liquid the juicy part was after baking but realized soon enough that it thickens up as it cools. Ate it warm and had seconds. Okay, maybe it was thirds. Don't judge me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by downtoearthcooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deer Park, Texas, USA
Living In: Hollister, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
This was PERFECT! I have been making this for years but the secret is pressing down the cake mix. makes a huge difference. Of course you must have ripe and sweet fruit. I made exactly the way it is written and my family was crazy about it. Delicious fruit and crunchy topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I love this recipe! It turns out perfect every time and is always a big hit! I am trying it with blackberries tonight. So easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I used Butter Pecan cake mix instead of just plain yellow and it tasted so much better!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DivaTrish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
For a quick dessert with ice cream on top, it is great. For a dessert on its own, I'd pass on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Maxson Rodriguez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
This was always called "Peach Dessert" by my family, hence we had no expectations of pie crust. When we first made this in the 1950's, the recipe called for "Gladiola Yellow cake mix" and if we tried any other brand, it just wasn't anywhere near as good. When Gladiola stopped making our beloved cake mix...we thought this was the end forever of "Peach Dessert" Since it was so loved by not only us but every one we fixed it for (I used to make it when I was only 11 years old) we compromised and used other brands...still better than no PD at all! "Dump cake" became popular in the 80's maybe a little earlier, and it was very different because it was made with pie filling not canned peaches. Today when we make this dessert, we have come to learn that it must be eaten warm right away because it's just not that good days later. So my suggestion is make it only for enough people to consume as it comes out of the oven.... just like pancakes...they aren't as good re-warmed up the next day. So if you wait to taste it the next day and base your reviews on that.....no wonder!...LOL :) oh yeah and 55 mins is way too long in my oven.....45 mins is all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 536) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States