Peach Cobbler Dump Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
If you want to cut down on the sweetness and/or cut down on the carbs, there is an easy fix. My husband's family calls this Fruit Cocktail Cake. So we use 2 cans of fruit cocktail, 1 of peaches and 1 of pears, cut into pieces. (14 oz cans, not the big one) I drain the juice out of most of the cans and just make sure the fruit is moist. Then use sugar free cake mix on top. Like everyone says, good easy recipe. Wonderful taste and nobody ever thinks its dry cake mix! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
So delicious and easy! Next time I'll use 3-4 cans of peaches instead of 2. I sliced the butter into thin pads and covered the top with them, came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
This is heavenly!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Turned out amazing. Will make it again, and again. I used fresh peaches left over from canning. Ladled in some left over simple syrup, spread the dry cake mix evenly over the top, thinly cut and placed butter over nearly every inch. I only had to use a wee bit more butter than called for to cover it well. I left out the cinnamon because I didn't have any. This was not a problem. I was unsure about how liquid the juicy part was after baking but realized soon enough that it thickens up as it cools. Ate it warm and had seconds. Okay, maybe it was thirds. Don't judge me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by downtoearthcooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deer Park, Texas, USA
Living In: Hollister, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
This was PERFECT! I have been making this for years but the secret is pressing down the cake mix. makes a huge difference. Of course you must have ripe and sweet fruit. I made exactly the way it is written and my family was crazy about it. Delicious fruit and crunchy topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I love this recipe! It turns out perfect every time and is always a big hit! I am trying it with blackberries tonight. So easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I used Butter Pecan cake mix instead of just plain yellow and it tasted so much better!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DivaTrish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
For a quick dessert with ice cream on top, it is great. For a dessert on its own, I'd pass on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Maxson Rodriguez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
This was always called "Peach Dessert" by my family, hence we had no expectations of pie crust. When we first made this in the 1950's, the recipe called for "Gladiola Yellow cake mix" and if we tried any other brand, it just wasn't anywhere near as good. When Gladiola stopped making our beloved cake mix...we thought this was the end forever of "Peach Dessert" Since it was so loved by not only us but every one we fixed it for (I used to make it when I was only 11 years old) we compromised and used other brands...still better than no PD at all! "Dump cake" became popular in the 80's maybe a little earlier, and it was very different because it was made with pie filling not canned peaches. Today when we make this dessert, we have come to learn that it must be eaten warm right away because it's just not that good days later. So my suggestion is make it only for enough people to consume as it comes out of the oven.... just like pancakes...they aren't as good re-warmed up the next day. So if you wait to taste it the next day and base your reviews on that.....no wonder!...LOL :) oh yeah and 55 mins is way too long in my oven.....45 mins is all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
This recipe is even better with 1/2 tsp salt added to the cake mix, and the final topping melted butter drizzled over the cake mix topped with 3/4 C chopped pecans, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, and 1/4 tsp. nutmeg. For an added twist, add 1/2 C drained crushed pineapple to the peaches! Yum~~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne Baker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 534) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States