Peach Cobbler Dump Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
For a quick dessert with ice cream on top, it is great. For a dessert on its own, I'd pass on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Maxson Rodriguez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
This was always called "Peach Dessert" by my family, hence we had no expectations of pie crust. When we first made this in the 1950's, the recipe called for "Gladiola Yellow cake mix" and if we tried any other brand, it just wasn't anywhere near as good. When Gladiola stopped making our beloved cake mix...we thought this was the end forever of "Peach Dessert" Since it was so loved by not only us but every one we fixed it for (I used to make it when I was only 11 years old) we compromised and used other brands...still better than no PD at all! "Dump cake" became popular in the 80's maybe a little earlier, and it was very different because it was made with pie filling not canned peaches. Today when we make this dessert, we have come to learn that it must be eaten warm right away because it's just not that good days later. So my suggestion is make it only for enough people to consume as it comes out of the oven.... just like pancakes...they aren't as good re-warmed up the next day. So if you wait to taste it the next day and base your reviews on that.....no wonder!...LOL :) oh yeah and 55 mins is way too long in my oven.....45 mins is all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
This recipe is even better with 1/2 tsp salt added to the cake mix, and the final topping melted butter drizzled over the cake mix topped with 3/4 C chopped pecans, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, and 1/4 tsp. nutmeg. For an added twist, add 1/2 C drained crushed pineapple to the peaches! Yum~~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne Baker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Try making it with a spice cake mix and save the cinnamon but add pecans on top - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
came out a little undone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This is the same recipe my grandmother made for us as kids...wonderful! Her directions were slightly different - melt the butter and add the cinnamon and peaches. Pour into the pan and add cake mix on top - stir until the cake mix is moist. Personally I like it gooey on the bottom so I don't mix it very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I just tried making this today due I didn't have anything sweet in the kitchen. I followed the recipe as written but I added some sugar cinnamon mix on top with a few pecans. I love peach cobbler and this is a keeper for be. Being single might not be a good ideal to make to often...lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mstexas63

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Holy Cow!! Why didn't I know this was s-o-o-o easy! The hardest part was getting the cake mix boxes open! Since there were no 18.25oz cake mixes on the shelf, I used -2- Jiffy yellow (9oz each) -2- 8x8 pans, easy peesy, -1- can, -1- box to each pan! I did take another posters advice and added a bit of brown sugar on top of the peaches before "dumping" the cake mix on. -2- pans, one for now and one in the freezer for later (there is only the two of us!) The downside... I made it before I made supper and, of course, had to taste test... Oooopsy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I froze unsalted butter & then grated it- covered perfectly & took just a couple of minutes to do. I also used 32 oz of frozen peaches thawed in the microwave & poured about a half cup of simple syrup (4 oz water + 2 oz sugar) over them. I also sprinkled a little brown sugar over the top along with the cinnamon. The peaches turned out great & the top crust was fantastic. Unfortunately there was a little dry cake mix in between (which may have been a result of not using a lot of syrup). Even so, it was a fairly tasty concoction & easy to make. Lot of calories in that butter however so I'm not sure I'd want to do it too often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Quick, easy and deliciously satisfying! Great when you want or need something fast. I always keep canned peaches and a yellow cake mix on hand so I can make this. It's great to quickly stir together before dinner, pop it in the oven and serve nice and warm with vanilla ice cream for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Altoona, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 527) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

Southern Peach Cobbler

Turn fresh peaches into sweet, outrageously delicious cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States