Peach Cobbler Dump Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Great recipe; I will make this again! I did add 1/3 cup of brown sugar sprinkled on top, then cinnamon. I did not melt the butter, rather I cut it into small pieces and laid them on top throughout. Came out just like a cobbler! It's so good warmed up with a scoop of ice cream. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLoomis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sevierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Okay, you can laugh. This is the first review I've written and the lack of 5 stars is my fault, but I didn't want anyone else to make the same mistake. I followed a couple of other's suggestions with adding blueberries, the brown sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg and I grated the frozen butter on top although the darned stuff thaws out too fast and was all over my hands. I thought I memorized the recipe from the office (computer) to the kitchen, but when I finished and came back to check the oven time, I saw that I has missed "Press down firmly." So, I threw a piece of waxed paper over the butter and spices and pressed down. Well, most of it stuck to the waxed paper and I had to scrape it off and gob it back down on top of the still fairly dry cake mix. Are you laughing yet? Fortunately, I only made this because I had a big can of peaches and wanted to do something with them, so no one else was expecting cobbler tonight. I just took it out of the oven and it looks like a spotted leopard. I tasted a corner of it and it tastes pretty good even though it's uglier than sin. A bit too sweet for me though -- think I'd leave off the brown sugar next time. Better luck to you guys. It should have been much easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Easy! I changed it a bit just to see how it would taste. Added cherry pie filling, 2 cans of lite canned peaches. It was great! Oh I used a whole stick of butter and sliced it thin all over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Holy jeez. I read most of the reviews and I honestly can't understand how y'all were able to stomach this. The most helpful critical review is right - it tastes like peachy baking soda. I followed the recipe and then added a bit of brown sugar on top as I saw in another review. It smelled a-ma-zing! It even looked awesome. The consistency is exactly what I was hoping for - crusty top, cakey middle, gooey bottom. But it tasted so, so, so salty (baking soda) that no amount of ice cream, whipped cream, or frosting could render this cake palatable. Ugh, this was horrible. I wouldn't even recommend it to my enemies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
If you want to cut down on the sweetness and/or cut down on the carbs, there is an easy fix. My husband's family calls this Fruit Cocktail Cake. So we use 2 cans of fruit cocktail, 1 of peaches and 1 of pears, cut into pieces. (14 oz cans, not the big one) I drain the juice out of most of the cans and just make sure the fruit is moist. Then use sugar free cake mix on top. Like everyone says, good easy recipe. Wonderful taste and nobody ever thinks its dry cake mix! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
So delicious and easy! Next time I'll use 3-4 cans of peaches instead of 2. I sliced the butter into thin pads and covered the top with them, came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
This is heavenly!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Turned out amazing. Will make it again, and again. I used fresh peaches left over from canning. Ladled in some left over simple syrup, spread the dry cake mix evenly over the top, thinly cut and placed butter over nearly every inch. I only had to use a wee bit more butter than called for to cover it well. I left out the cinnamon because I didn't have any. This was not a problem. I was unsure about how liquid the juicy part was after baking but realized soon enough that it thickens up as it cools. Ate it warm and had seconds. Okay, maybe it was thirds. Don't judge me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by downtoearthcooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deer Park, Texas, USA
Living In: Hollister, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
This was PERFECT! I have been making this for years but the secret is pressing down the cake mix. makes a huge difference. Of course you must have ripe and sweet fruit. I made exactly the way it is written and my family was crazy about it. Delicious fruit and crunchy topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I love this recipe! It turns out perfect every time and is always a big hit! I am trying it with blackberries tonight. So easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 539) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States