Peach Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
This cake was very good!!! I did take SCHlZ0319 suggestion and put 1 1/2 cup sugar, 1/2 cup oil, and 1/4 cup orange juice , I also added more fresh peaches and topped off with whipped cream Delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
I LOVE this cake. It smelled so good while cooking that I couldn't let it cool completely before slicing me a piece. Delicious! And the perfect use for peaches. I had a few that were almost overly ripe, so I searched this site looking for a way to use them and satisfy my sweet tooth as well. It almost tastes like a carrot cake, just without the carrots. And the peaches seem to caramelize in the batter as it cooks, bringing out the natural sweetness. If I could give you ten stars for this recipe, I would. The only thing I did differently, just because I like the butter flavor, is replace 1/2 of the vegetable oil with a stick of softened butter. I think a good low fat alternative would be to use applesauce in this recipe instead of butter, and I think it will work well with the peaches. The cake is super moist and the sweetness is perfectly balanced with the cinnamon and the peaches. Thanks so much for sharing such a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palestine, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I made a few changes...I used 1/4 c of the syrup out of the peach can + 1/2 tsp baking soda instead of 1 of the eggs, and in mixing, i creamed the sugar with the liquids, then added the mixed dry ingredients to that. Also, i added some vanilla, because i am a fan, and baked it in four mini loaf pans. Pretty good, I might make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nimue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Delicious and easy! I didn't have enough oil and substituted 1/2 the oil with applesauce. I was worried the cake would be tough but it was still moist and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This is a great cake, I used 1 1/2 cup sugar and added almond extract instead of pecans, I also used a powder sugar glaze and added some almonds along with almond extract - it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Used some peaches that I had canned- good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
This was very easy to throw together! I highly recommend making it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRATTYBLUEEYES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Fabulous as written. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denitomi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
This was good! I added the sauce on the top as another reviewer suggested and it made it awfully sweet (but that's not how it was submitted so I'm not reviewing it based on that). Easy to make; I used fresh peaches and probably would add a few more next time. Thanks for the recipe, I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
The cake turned out okay but we thought it was way too sweet. I usually like to make something exactly like the recipe and modify according to our own preference/taste. Next time, I will put only a half of the sugar and increase the amount of peach that is in it. I also thought that I tasted more Cinnamon that I would have liked (I want to taste peach if I am making a peach cake), I would decrease the amount of cinnamon as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Peach Crisp III

Granola and oats combine with fresh peaches in this 5-star dessert.

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States