Peach Beehives with Hard Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
This is the recipe that introduced me to Allrecipes. I absolutely love and can't bake the traditional peach pie anymore. So easy that young children can actually bake their own peach pies. I love the fact that it only uses the natural sweetness of the peach with no sugars or sweeteners added. A boom for guests who worry about their diets. It also makes a wonderful presentation, if you just wrap a crust around the fruit without making a "beehive". I like to add a sprig of mint to look like a leaf. Yesterday I served it with bee pollen and creamed cinnamon honey from the bee farmers, instead of the sauce. Totally addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
These were pretty good. My husband loved them and the kiddies thought they were really cool. I used homemade pie crust. The peaches were a little hard to wrap but it does make it easier as stated if you hold the dough in place and twirl the peach around to wrap. I also found it easier to seal the pieces with a dab of water. Do not wrap them too tight or they will break open in the oven. I had two of them do this. The cooking time was right on for me, done to perfection after 40 minutes. I doubled the hard sauce because you need plenty to serve with these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
VERY GOOD! I used "Basic Flaky Pie Crust" for my dough strips and it worked very well. I added yellow food coloring to make the sauce look like honey. Thank you Linda B for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Really, really good. I'm so glad I got to this recipe before the end of peach season. I adored the hard sauce, as did my husband who normally doesn't like sweets. I did a few things differently. I intended to use homemade pie crust but found some puff pastry in the back of my freezer, so I used that instead. I'm not a fan of store bought pie crusts. Also, it seemed complicated to me to cut the peach in half after it baked to get the pit out, since I imagined the pastry crumbling. So I halved my peach, took out the pit, and then covered each half in pastry. (If you're gonna have to halve it before serving it anyway, this seems easier. Added bonus - you get more dough and I love pastry! I'd make it again tomorrow if I didn't want to stay a size 8!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NKTAUBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Auntie D in MN
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
After reading the other reviews, I think I had higher expectations for this, but my guests and I found this to be only so-so. The hard sauce is very good, but everyone said they would just rather have a peach pie. It is a novel way to present this, but the flavor is not amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
I am not a fan of baked fruit ususally, but my guests loved these! They are very easy other than the wrapping could be a bit time consuming. I made a homemade pie crust which was probably a lot easier to work with beacause it would stick better. Keep a bit of water next to your working space to use it as glue on the crust. I brushed thses with egg whites and sprinkled them with sugar. When making the sauce, make sure your butter is soft or the sauce will be clumpy. The sauce was a great addition to these! I didn't dare try making the bee out of the crust....it would have been the funiest looking bee you ever saw!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzymomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
Wow. These are harder than they look - Pomplemousse makes it look easy. Very cute idea - and tasty too! I used biggish peaches, so only got 2 per crust (ate a whole one, too!). I followed Pomp's egg wash and bee suggestions. I had a hard time getting my dough to stick to itself and ended up brushing some water on. Also, be careful not to wrap your peaches too tight - they expand while baking and may crack your hive. Thanks to Linda for the recipe and Pomplemousse for the beze (yours are way cuter and resentment is the secret ingredient ... xo). :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This was surprisingly easy, even though I was a bit leary. I'm not very good at cutting pie crust into even slices, but it doesn't really matter. LOL! I was a bit skeptical about leaving the peach pit in, but it comes out extremely easily when it's sliced. Just watch your fingers--it's hot! Either my pie crust was too small, my peaches were too big, or I'm not very good at wrapping, because I only had enough dough to make 3 beehives. I did have a tiny bit of dough left over, so I decided to make bees. Don't laugh at the picture! I've never made them before! The crusts only browned a bit on top, so maybe an egg wash would produce a better golden color. I didn't like the hard sauce plain before I put it on the peaches, but hot over the peaches it's wonderful. It melts down and is a perfect complement. I think one peach half is a perfect serving, not one peach, so I guess I'll get several servings out of my three peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cookie-Crusted Peach Cobbler

What's cooking in Hagerstown? Cindy's ultimate summer dessert, peach cobbler.

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Peach and Goat Cheese Tartine

See how to make a warm tartine with goat cheese and fresh peaches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States