Peach-Basil Sangria Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I was looking for a light/refreshing/fruity cocktail to serve at a party and I found this one. The basil is not overpowering, but a very nice complement to the fruit in this drink. Sometimes it is hard to find peach nectar, or somtimes it is bland or kind of metallic tasting when you buy it in a can, so we used half mango nectar and half peach. I served it with cheap magnum sized bottles of chardonnay (nothing too sweet) and it was great. Everyone loved it and asked me for the recipe. Nicest thing about it, was we had leftover syrup from this recipe, and I put it in a mason jar in the fridge and continued to make it a glass at a time after the party. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I was really disappointed with this recipe. It was too sweet and "syrupy". I would not have used all the peach nectar or nearly that much sugar. I did however like the basil flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fran

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
This was really good - I only used 1/2 the sugar called for in the recipe and I used apricot nectar instead (all I had).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bubilina
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Yummy! A great way to transform a cheap bottle of white into something delicious. I used a 1.5L bottle of wine, 1/3 c. sugar, 2-12oz cans of peach nectar, and a 0.5 oz pkg fresh basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bubilina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Not peachy enough for me. It sounded so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Deliciously refreshing, yes - yummy, and easy to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
I drink A LOT of sangria. I prefer red wine BUT I loved this recipe. I made it for a ladies brunch and it was very popular. I made 3 batches! First batch with pinot grigio (best), second batch with muscat and less sugar (good) and thrid batch with chardonay and less sugar (ok).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Suprisingly delicious combo. Had this at a friends party, loved it and have now made it twice myself. Everyone LOVES this. I used a little less sugar than the recipe calls for and a litle more wine :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
Only 3 stars, b/c to me, it needs some work. I just tasted like peach nectar... and why ADD sugar to peach nectar, I'm not sure. I am going to try again with different ratios. Maybe two bottles of wine to 3 cups nectar, 1 cup basil, juice of two lemons, and maybe, just maybe 1/2 cup sugar. Thanks for the recipe though, I would not have thought of this combination. Just needs a little tweaking for my tastes. Take care!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
Absolutely scrumptious! I doubled the recipe, but kept the peach nectar to only 5 cups, otherwise too peachy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sangria Cocktail

A professional bartender makes this classic Spanish wine and fruit punch.

Classic Spanish Sangria

Watch how to make this authentic version of the popular wine drink.

Sangria! Sangria!

See how to make homemade sangria, the perfect summer sipper.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States