Peach Amaretto Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This was easy and great tasting. I used fresh picked from the tree peaches. They were little ones so I just used enough to cover the bottom. Almonds were what I found first in the freezer so I used a handful of those. The almond flavoring was a little strong for me and not enough amaretto. I will probably swap the extract for it the next time and try it with the pecans and use a cake pan. My glass pie plate took a lot longer, it finally dawned on me I had to lower the temperature for it. Great recipe Sueb! My son finally got around to trying a piece I saved for him, he said that was some good stuff! (High praise from him, he's not much of a sweet eater and he is a chef)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Very good! A nice change from peach cobbler or crisp. I had bought a 1/2 peck of peaches from the peach orchard and had already made cobbler, crisp and baked peaches in syrup. I found this recipe and made it just as written. It smelled fabulous and tasted just as great. I made it in a 10" pie pan as I was afraid it would boil over in the 9". I think it would have, so was glad I had used the larger pan. It popped right out of the pie pan also and looked very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
DELICIOUS! My parents and husband just raved about this cake. I made it as written, using 2 fresh peeled peaches and put it in a 9" pie plate. Luckily I had an oven saver under my pie plate as some of the butter mixture bubbled over. Next time I will bake in my deep dish pie pan. The taste of these ingredients are absolutely spot on. Thanks sueb for sharing your recipe. It is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
This cake was wonderful! Light, easy, and tasty...perfect for summer entertaining!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walpole, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Franklin, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This cake is scrumptious and beautiful too. My guests raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Wonderful recipe! I omitted the almond flavoring and added additional amaretto to the cake batter. This is a keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southlake, Texas, USA
Living In: Prague, Hlavní Mesto Praha, Czech Republic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Sliced the peaches thin like stated...Would have liked them a little thicker...Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alex
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Very good! I was worried that I'd screwed it up a bit as it took quite awhile longer to cook the cake through and then when I flipped it over the top seemed really wet and soggy. After cooling and sitting out for the afternoon though, it firmed up more and while it was a little gooey (not sure if that's how it was supposed to be) but definitely really tasty. I made it in a springform pan as I didn't trust my ability to turn it out of a pie plate in one piece and I think my pie plate would have been too small anyway. I guess I should have played with the oven temp to cook it properly due to my pan change but it still came out great and everyone loved it! Thanks for the recipe, sueb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
This was delicious and very easy to make. I used frozen (thawed and drained) peaches. The house smelled AMAZING while it was baking (mine took 30 min). I actually let mine sit longer than 10 minutes before plating it. Thanks for a great recipe sueb! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Delicious. I used nectarines instead of peaches...my daughter ate them before I could use them....I love amaretto. I used vanilla instead of almond extract as I ran out. But it was still delicious. I'll definately make again...and hopefully with peaches next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Ohio, USA
Living In: De Graff, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States